Schnapps...


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Tyrol » Mayrhofen
December 29th 2006
Published: December 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So you can tell I'm not working at the moment as I have the time to trek 3km into town and spend ages on the internet. But what have I been doing with myself otherwise? Well truth is not a lot. Shopping aimlessly (ski equipment and the lark are expensive) and drinking coffee and gluhwein galore. But on tuesday after a days wandering I decided i was cold so needed to warm up using the age old solution- gluhwein. So I thought, drinking on my own ok but it's gluhwein, it's hardly alcohol. So i went to my local apres ski bar otherwise known as the yeti bar and by 5pm things were already in full swing. After starting my second gluhwein a local asked me if i was drinking alone. Oh the shame! But worked out well as I ended up drinking with him and his friends. Now, bear in mind, I hadn't eaten since breakfast and already 2 gluhweins down I started on the Weißenbiers. By this point it was latest 6pm. They were going down quite quickly and everybody else seemed quite drunk so i thought 'hey, lets start on the schnapps!' So Some Williams and here I go! I should have learnt my lesson after getting stuck up the mountain. I think i possibly had 4 or 5 plus beer in between. So... as time goes on i couldn't tell if it was my drunk state, the austrians or the dialect that was making things harder to understand but about 9.30 we headed for food, handily in my hotel. By this point some of the guys girlfriends have joined us and one of them was NOT happy. Now I can't really tell you why as she was speaking dialect, v v quickly but I got the impression it was time to leave. So I made a quick getaway upto my room had a drunken convo and passed out. Somewhere in between all this i walked into something and I recall headbutting a glass- have a bruise above my eye. Oh UDI's, you gotta love 'em! Now I keep seeing one of the girlfriends around the hotel. It's a small world here in austria... almost like a foreign version of reagans (sports night at leicester for those of you who didn't have the privelege to attend!)... i.e. incestuous and everybody has probably pulled someone else involved. I would like to add at this point that i myself am not included in this tally!!

Moral of the story... schnapps is bad! But it was an enjoyable night all round. Maybe I'll try the same tonight! Or I could go find the english people but that involves 3km and to be quite frank, us english just aren't as friendly.

Ok well, my next group arrives 2mo, i've been forewarned that there may be an awkward party leader and the kids are 15-17... worst age group ever! Wish me luck!

Happy New Year to all and I'm sure some of you will receive a message from moi!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb