Skiing etc


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Tyrol » Mayrhofen
December 26th 2006
Published: December 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So last week was my first week on the job and I have to say, it went quite well all things considered. I only had one emergency trip to the hospital which was in fact not a skiing injury but somebody falling through a glass door. It was all good though, no arteries severed and a few check-ups confirmed that it wasn´t serious. No more skiing for the parties concerned but such is life. I also had a second trip (well technically fourth if i include check-ups) to the hospital. One of the teachers unfortunately got off the ski lift too late and hurt her knee. Again, luckily nothing too serious. SO i think i got off lightly for the first week.

And.... it was my first week of skiing! I went with the beginners and after changing my boots which were severely restricting my blood flow, I actually enjoyed my first day. Wasn't quite as impressed my the ski school owner half pushing me down the hill before I actually knew how to stop but I suppose this is how one learns?! So once I had the snow plow down, it was time to tackle the lifts. Button lift first. After a near heart attack, i survived. Much easier than on a snowboard i must say. So day over and I was a happy if tired bunny. The other ski days went fairly well... i've conquered my fear a little though when i get to some serious altitude and the red slopes we'll see how I go! Hope to go with the intermediate group next week if all goes to plan.

As for the social side, it's perhaps not as lively as you would expect as I was in a pretty small village before and the apres ski was up a mountain with access only by car after 5pm. (And before 9 as I found when I got stuck up there on friday night). Perhaps next time I will think a bit harder before deciding to stay and party whilst my lift leaves. Na ja as the germans say, I'd shared more or less a whole bottle of schnapps between 3 and had also had quite a few glasses of wine plus bacardi which as most of you know i stay well clear of! when it's free though it's not nice to complain! Most of my week I spent having a few beers at the hotel I was looking after, after multi-tasking at the bar and waitressing. I am after all a woman and we're good at these sorts of things. Most humour came in the form of the ski instructors. One who turned 71 on friday if you can believe it. Apparently the women keep him young! Also had a insight into mens pysche through another instructor. You men are dogs!

Well I'm in mayrhofen as of sat and it's a lot more lively so now i jsut need to find some people to actually party with. I feel a little like I've started uni in the middle of the term and missed freshers week. But I'm sure things will pick up soon. If nothing else, i'lll get fit walking the 3km into town every day and skiing. Watch out boys, Kristin is gonna be buff when she returns! Perhaps svelte would be a better word?!

Well I'm thinking I should head back to my hotel soon as it's getting cold and my layers are lacking as I had to do some washing after 2 weeks. Though I do have extra insulation on my legs due to the lack of shaving. Lol i'm embracing the 'european' way! Just kidding to all you austrians reading this. I'm just lazy is all. Maybe for new years...

Ok well that's it for now... hope to update soon and eventually get some pictures on here.

Tchuß und machs gut!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb