The Hills are alive with the sound of Griswald


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Tyrol » Innsbruck
April 17th 2009
Published: April 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

From Munich, I took the train to Innsbruck Austria .. right in the heart of the alps. I was surrounded by snow covered mountains, but you would never know it because it was short sleeve weather. It was rather warm. It was the end of snow season, and the summer season hadnt quite kicked in ... and it was a Easter Weekend .... so the town was rather dead. Because of this I was able to finagle a dirt cheap hotel room at a hotel that was way nicer than I had any business staying in for only a fraction of the price it typically costs. Given that it was a ghost town, I really didnt do much ... other than take advantage of the huge bed and quiet room to catch up on some rest, wash clothes and give my feet a break for 48 hours. Innbruck isnt really a small town per se ... its hosted the winter Olympics in the past and is one of Europe's most popular ski destinations. One day I managed to get a discounted price on the ski lift halfway up the mountains, as the top of the mountains were still covered in the season's last snow. The lasting memory of Innbruck will be looking out of my bedroom window surrounded by snow peaks and mountain air while wearing my complimentary terrycloth bathrobe and enjoying some long overdue luxory.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb