Neubaugasse NEUBAUgasse NEUBAUGASSE


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Styria » Graz
October 14th 2008
Published: October 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!

There's got to be something in the water here, 'cause even on horrible days the days are always pretty good! I woke up this morning and had such a sore throat I couldn't swallow, a throbbing headache, a stuffed nose so I couldn't breathe, and basically bubbles in my ears so I couldn't hear. After spending about 40 minutes in the shower trying to feel better, I headed out to meet Thomas at Neubaugasse to hopefully meet with the Doorman and buy a bike.

I got to Neubaugasse and met Thomas, and we went to the Doorman's office, which of course is now moved to Steyrergasse! Since I had two hours before class and he had no classes today, we decided to go on ein Abenteuer . With a quick stop up in his place , we headed out. While we were walking, he was telling me that one of their flatmates is heading back to Germany since she doesn't want to stay here, so there will be a free room in their place and I should take it. That made my day skyrocket, 'cause it would be such a blast to live with him, Libor, and Borja, as well as their other roommates from Spain and Germany. I emailed the office a little while ago, and there are some funky things to figure out, but hopefully I'll be able to move there! That would be such a blast! I think if I could live there, too, I'd stay here for the year. I've been thinking about it anyways, since I absolutely love it here, so we'll see...

After getting to Steyrergasse and talking to the ladies working, we found out the Doorman was sick and out for the week, and told to come back next week. Awesome. When we went outside it was lightly raining, but we walked back to Jakominiplatz, where we split. He headed home and I went up to school, as I had my first German language class today, Sprach- und Wortschatztraining, Speaking and Vocabulary Training. It's for the international kids at the same place we took the DeutschIntensiv, and it's just to be able to communicate strongly in German and deepen our vocabulary. My friend Harry from Australia is in it, too, which was a nice surprise. As we waited for class to begin and the students filed in, Harry and I observed our ratio. 4 guys to about 22 girls. Aaaallriiiight.

The class was overall a lot of fun. The professor is young, and her name is actually also Eva. We had to play some games to get to know each other and whatnot, typical first day of school stuff. It should be a lot of fun, though, 'cause we're going to study more of Austrian dialect, and all the kids in it seem pretty cool. It should definitely be a lot of fun.

After that, I just came back here where I've been relaxing and wallowing in sickness. My head still feels like it's about to explode, so I'm going to go stand in the shower for another hour in a few minutes, but I had to let everyone know about the awesome twist of events that could potentially be happening in the next few days in Graz!

Advertisement



14th October 2008

SO GREAT to "Chat" with you! The living arrangements sound great - forget the friends, you'd have cleaning!! Not as exciting here - but gorgeous! I hope you feel better - don't they have R-I-C-O-L-A!!!???
14th October 2008

Riiiiiiiicolaaaaaa
I'm sitting here right now sucking on a Ricola in fact! It's Ricola: Kirsche-Honig; Schweizer Kraeuterbonbon [Cherry-Honey: Swiss Herbal Candy]. B-e-a-utiful.
14th October 2008

Ricola
you guys are so funny...now I,m gonna have the ricola yodel in my head for the rest of the day! By the way Matthew...I changed my plans once I started studying in Italy...I was supposed to go to Paris for second semester and couldnt bear the thought of leaving Firenze so I just stayed and continued on. It sounds like you will be having fun no matter what you decide to do. RLL

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb