Grüß Gott!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Styria » Graz
July 6th 2008
Published: July 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hallo zu jedem von Österreich!


I have now been here almost for 24 hours. I have already managed to figure out the Strassenbahn on my own (it helps that they are the same everywhere), eat Schokalade Eis, make tons of friends, and speak a lot of German!

I forgot how much I loved the language and the people.

My journey to Graz lasted about 32 hours - which is the longest I have ever gone without sleep! It began in Phoenix, then to Cleveland, then to Paris to Vienna to Graz.

Paris was interesting. France isn't really my thing but I have a fantastic and strange layover.

First, I must let you all know the new fashion trends that I spotted at the de Gaulle airport. Women are now wearing MC Hammer style parachute pants in a variety of colors - I kid you not. For men - I have to admit the men wear some pretty amazing shores, but their hair which for teenage boys is a mini mullet.

There was also an airline strike with beating of drums and chanting. It was right in front of my security checkpoint - so I had to wait. It was a little stressful. It didn't help that Paris loves to have their men with guns run around all over the place. There were about 15-20 armed guards surrounding the strike. But I managed to get here with no other bumps in the road.

Tonight I am going to have a nice calm dinner with some of my new friends and then tomorrow is practicing (it's been a few days...uh oh) and city tours.

I begin the real reason I came here on Tuesday. I cannot wait. I am in the zone!

Much love to all
Viel Liebe zu allen!

Bye. Until later!
Tchüß. Bis Später!

Kaitlin

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb