Apfel Strudl


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Styria » Bad Aussee
January 2nd 2012
Published: January 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today I walked to the village and did a grocery shop, bought a new skiing jacket, and some ingredients for Apfel Strudl and a roast of some Fleish I thought was beef.

Walked the five kilometres home, very slowly, the weight of the groceries was mental, and I had to walk through the snow and ice.

Found my way home, and as most of you will know, I don't cook, so Alfred mostly made the strudl for me, and I acted as his assistant (well, I did the dishes).

We didn't have the roast I was going to prepare, partly because it ended up being turkey, and secondly we went out on an excursion to the local Höhle (cave) open only once a year for visitors. This cave has a story to tell, a man went awol and lived in hiding in the cave. His wife brought food to him every day, even, of course, in winter. She developed influenza and sadly passed away, but the man was pardoned of all charges.

At the entrance to the hike to the cave we were handed candles. We walked in groups holding our candles. Once we arrived at the entrance, a brass band welcomed us with traditional music. Schnapps was offered to warm the cockles. They then did a small fireworks show (no pyrotechnics in sight!!!). We were then led through the cave, lit with candles only. It was lovely, and the girls (Isabella, Verena and myself loved it). Of course, Alfred and Thomas, neither who had ever visited this local cave, enjoyed it immensely too.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb