Zell am See - day 2 skiing


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg
January 7th 2012
Published: January 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We had another incredible day of skiing today. It was clearer when we got up, so I have a few pictures from the window. In the second if you look closely through the opening you can see the gondola that we take partway up the mountain. We're staying in a very convenient location! We even saw the lake (not yet frozen) from the rides up this morning.

We got about a foot of snow or more during the day yesterday and overnight so Brad and I got our first real taste of powder skiing. The piste skiing technique I've beenstarting to get the hang of is useless in the deep snow. On my first run in waist deep snow I took quite the faceplant. Instead of Brad being my 'knight in shining armour or snowy getup' he was being Mr professional photographer! To be honest I think the pictures just show a pole sticking up in a mound of snow. I was rescued by a very nice Austrian man who I am now staying with.

The rest of the day was just as eventful, with a few more wipeouts (most extreme challenge style). I did an 'ass over tea
GondolaGondolaGondola

Taken from our bedroom window... amazing!
kettle' according to Brad and the snow was so soft it felt like a bed of clouds. We also did 1 continuous run from the top of the mountain, covering a vertical change of over 1000 meters in about 45 minutes. Blue mountain just doesn't compare!

Anyways we're having another night in, sampling the local beers. We're hoping to make it up early tomorrow to keep skiing. We've even decided to cancel our spa day in the radium laced waters to get more time on the mountains.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb