On Our Own


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg » Salzburg
February 21st 2006
Published: March 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

No, No, No...not like that movie, but that is what was happening after todays travels. We would split! I would stay in Salzburg and Jacqueline would go back to London early. We took the train from Prague to Salzburg. It was a very stressful situation because at the Czech Republic train station, we had to switch trains and we only had five minutes to do so. So the morning and that first train was filled with quite a bit of tension. I just put my iPod on and read my book and dazed in and out. However, we shared our "box" with a man and woman and they both reeked of B.O. and the box was so hot and stuffy...i thought i was going to faint or something. Then, when we got to the train station, there were only three platforms to get on and we were coming from one platform. There really was nothing to worry about, but we made it out. I was able to fully relax and take a nap. When I woke up, i had to go to the bathroom. So I decided to use the one on our car. But it was really weird because you could see the track through the floor and when you did your thing, it all flushed right out onto the tracks! Kind of disgusting...but whatever...We could tell we were in Austria because it the houses looked more like western Europe than tattered buildings of the Czech Republic. I really like the architecture of the Austrian houses with the cute little dark colored wooden porches. Also, the house are very colorful and it just gives it a happy atmosphere...Then, we had to get off at Linz to switch trains, but here we had like 45 minutes. So, I went and had an Austrian pizza for lunch with salami on it! So good! we walked around the train station for a bit and then went out to the platform to wait for our train. About ten minutes later it came, we got on it and were off to Salzburg. When we got to Salzburg, we bought bus tickets, because Salzburg does not have an underground system. We found my hostel, and then we went back to the train station to find the bus that Jacqueline needed to get on to go to the airport. She was flying back to London. It was really strange that first night in Austria because not many people spoke English and I certainly do NOT speak German. I was kinda freaked out. But I looked up some stuff to keep me occupied for the next few days. For dinner I ordered some salami and bread and butter from the restaurant at my hostel. This hostel was really cool because it is a "family" guesthouse, and they gave me my own bedroom with a bathroom. And out my window I could see the alps!!! out the front of the hostel was a great view of the signature fortress. It was a great location. Not too far from the center of the city. But that night I had a cup of mulled wine and watched the SOund of Music because it is shown daily at 8 pm at multiple place through out Salzburg. I then went to bed early!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb