A bit of travel without a net


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg » Salzburg
June 25th 2005
Published: June 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I took the plunge and changed to a day train, which leaves imminently for points Rhineward. Rick offers no information whatsoever on Bingen and only "don't bother" on Mainz, so I am on my own finding rooms and maps and such.

If I hadn't been silly and disorganized last night, I might have gotten a room in Bingen (home of St. Hildegard, patron of Women's Studies majors and feminist musicians); fortunately, this morning I scored an excellent room in Mainz instead (home of the Chagall church, which I might now have time to attend in the morning). So far, so good, but I must admit the Rick Steves' guidebook training wheels are comforting.

On the train, I'll try to figure out my plans re: cruise, Köln, Aachen, Trier, and suchlike, so I can avoid future room annoyances and hopefully not have to overnight in any train stations.

More news later from the road!

Advertisement



25th June 2005

very good shape
For some reasons I didn't read the last blogs as they came in, so I read them all at once right now. - Lot's of Europeans hardly even know the Sound of music (and if, they either had been exchange students or they know it as "Die Trapp Familie" (The Trapp family) :) Ulfs sais he only knows the german version, and he thinks it to be an "extremely bad and tastless movie" :) - St. Hildegard is especially known for her medication. In Germany nobody sees her in combination with feminists, but as a patron for doctors and nurses. How I know this? My aunt is a nun in the convent of the Benedictines, founded by St Hildegart, in Bingen ... if you care to visit...:) - I look very much foreward to see you again, but to be frank, I expect you to either be totally exhausted or in better shape than you make us readers believe:)) Salzburg, Bingen, Mainz, Köln, Aachen, Trier all within a couple of days :)) Have fun, looking foreward to see you, Drea

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb