A fly in the sky


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg » Bad Gastein
August 2nd 2010
Published: August 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today is finally the day that I get to go paragliding. I woke and went and had breakfast which was awesome, there was bread, cheese, meats, cereal, fruit and yogurt. This place is more like a hotel then a hostel.
I was downstair ready and waiting for my ride to come pick me up. He arrived right on time, his name is Luis and he has been paragliding for 22 years geeze I wish I had his job. It was about a 20 min drive to out destintation and for some reason I was not nervous at all. When we arrived we had to take a cable car up but his car was full of the instructor and the equipment that I hopped in the next one. When we reached what I though was the top I was like wow this is pretty hight but then I got ushered into ANOTHER cable car going even higher. The total height from the jump point was 1200 meters.
We got stapped in pretty quick, he said we were going to run forward three steps then take one step back then we will be off, then Luis walked over to us, grabbed my belt and said "Here it comes" Here what come? and before I knew it we were in the air, no running and no time to be scared because the wind was really good that day.
It was amazing, breath taking, uber fabulous need I say more. It was like I was floating in the air more then gently falling. I was able to steer us for awhile, we took pictures, did a short video, so crazy spins and before long we were coming in for a landing. The landing was a nice easy slip on the ass.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



25th August 2010

Super Woman..
Next up: Sky diving..

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb