Gjirokaster to Saranda


Advertisement
Albania's flag
Europe » Albania » South » Sarandë
July 7th 2023
Published: July 14th 2023
Edit Blog Post

I am up stretched and showered in plenty of time thanks to the sun waking me again. I head down the hill to Friends. The owner is helping with breakfast and a Dutch guy is checking out so I offer him room in my lift. The owner asks if we can fit another girl in, I say I don’t mind but I’m sure she is travelling with someone and the car only fits three and sure enough I’m right. Plus she has three cases. He ends up doing two runs but the Dutch guy and I go first. At the bus station we find the bus, put our bags on and then go for coffee which he very kindly buys for me towards the lift. The bus leaves on time. It is an air conditioned, posh minibus and the hour journey passes easily. My Dutch friend and an Italian girl get off at blue eye. I’m very tempted as I really want to go but its a 2km hike which both my feet and my bags will struggle with. I will try and find a way to do it over the next few days. The bus continues for another 40 minutes but gets stuck in traffic going into Saranda. I notice my hotel is this side of town so I ask the driver if he can stop. He agrees and three others also get off. I have saved myself about ten, fifteen minutes of walking and when I realise the 7 minutes I have left are all uphill I’m grateful.

I reach my hotel very hot and sweaty after being unable to find the entrance in and climbing lots of stairs through a garage. The pool looks great though. Of course my room isn’t ready but they let me store my belongings and lock my laptop. I need cash to pay for my room and a swimsuit before I can use the pool so after a quick catch up with Mum on the Seaview swings to show her and dad my view I head out. I find a credins bank and withdraw my money and track down the bus stop to gjirokaster if I decide to do blue eye tomorrow. Then I find a swimsuit shop and find a bikini that fits but it is more than I’d like to pay. Further down I find a swimsuit I like better and it is cheaper but I tell her I need to get cash so I can see if I can find anything better. I locate the hostel for tomorrow and chat to the owner. He says there’s a bus to blue eye at 10am tomorrow and its easy to do so to just come and drop my bags off before and he'll give me the details. Breakfast is at 8 so that should all be doable. I stop at a creperie and order a white chocolate and walnut crepe which is amazing and a can of coke as I am feeling a bit light headed. After some food I feel better so I go buy my swimsuit and wander back along the main beach. It is stony but the water looks lovely and clear and there are plenty of places to eat. I decide to head back the hotel, swim for a bit, check in and then head to Butrint about 330 4pm when it’s a bit cooler. My room is ready though so I am able to get in, shower and then head to the pool.

There are kids jumping in which puts me off so I order a water and a beer. I sit and read my book for a bit and the bartender asks me if I am travelling alone and if I am married and says it is rare to have single women travelling alone. I tell him I’ve been travelling for 4 weeks which he says is impressive. The pool empties and I manage to go for a swim. The water is lovely and cold. I am tired though and can’t swim too much so once I’m done I get out and read my book while I dry. I head back to my room and realise I am just lying in my room reading so I could probably get moving and get to Butrint on the earlier bus. I head into town, walking along the beach and taking pictures but still make it to the ferry terminal roundabout in time for the bus.
It is 150 lek and fills up relatively fast but I’m one if the first on and have a seat. I have a plan for tomorrow now that involves coming to ksamil with Deysha once she arrives so I take note of where to get off. At ksamil the bus fills with women and I can only assume they are getting the ferry back to the next town after butrint. The bus is busy and loud, lots of conversations and everyone knows each other. I get off at the stop with everyone and head into Butrint. It is 1000lek so I buy my ticket and head in. It takes me about an hour to walk round the site. It is a number of archaeological ruins from the early Greek times 8th century bc and they are incredibly well preserved. I wander around the 13 sites taking pictures. The acropolis is my favourite. The museum is closed so I head out asking where I can get water and am directed to a cafe near the bus stop. I buy two bottles of water, drink one and refill my bottle with the other. The bus somehow costs 200lek this time, no idea why its more but there’s no point protesting. It fills at ksamil so there are no spaces but again I got a seat by being on at the first stop.

I get off the bus at the other end of town and walk the length of the bay looking for a place to eat. Everything is so much more expensive here but especially seafood which is what I’m craving. I walk pretty much back to the harbour without deciding on anything so I head one street up and the price drops by 200lek. I find a restaurant and order a seafood macaroni and a beer. It is more spaghetti than macaroni but its lovely. There seems to be one guy doing everything but he’s very nice so I order another beer and once I’m done I pay leaving him a tip. Back at the hotel I realise the pool is still open so I change and jump in and catch up with Tara from the pool. I then call Charlie who is at mine trying to find a top I want Deysha to bring. Once that’s done I head to bed.



Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb