Banana Daquiri Monkeys


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
February 6th 2015
Published: February 6th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The Lizard BarThe Lizard BarThe Lizard Bar

The apre' beach bar in the Mexican Caribbean
OMG!!! There's a monkey drinking my banana daquiri !

On my last trip down to the Mexican Caribbean, I stayed at my all time favorite beach resort. It is nestled within a jungle that has animals that wander freely throughout the the resort. The most popular are the black Howler monkeys that live in the trees and give off their deep gutteral howl. After a day at the beach, I head for the cool water of the pool bar where you sit on stools in the pool while drinking your favorite tropical cocktail. The drinks are made with fresh fruit and then mixed in a blender. There's even a small waterfall that you can sit under with your travel friend lover. It's called the Lizard Bar because the top of the bar is made of mosaic tiles shaping a large lizard. It's a great little place that you can meet strangers from all over the world to chum with. Isn't it funny how alcohol can bridge the language barrier in a conversation? It was time to use the rest room (Banos), so I left the pool for a few minutes and left my banana daquiri on the end of the bar. When I came back, a small young Howler monkey had crawled down from a nearby tree and was sitting on the bar drinking my daquiri. Zowie !!

I don't know what the drinking age is for monkeys in Mexico, but those are the stories that you can only tell if you were there in person. Stay thirsty my friends and may your favorite resort have a monkey in your drink.

Hasta la vista ! The Wayward Angel

Advertisement



Tot: 0.491s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 4; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb