The Gringo Trail


Advertisement
Published: August 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I started my 3 month adventure of Central America in the gargantuan Mexico City where I met my Canadian friend David who was coincidently in the same city when I arrived (we first met hitchhiking in Albania, then a year after in Moldova - I swear he is following me around the world!). After exploring the city, markets and tequila bars, I headed south to Oaxava, which was in the middle of a huge festival. Every day there was plenty of music, dancing and crazy fireworks - those Mexicans really know how to party! At one fiesta I visited in the pretty town of El Tule, I was honored as the only foreign tourist.

I then travelled to the colorful colonial town of San Cristobel de Casus which also had a festival going on, with plenty of street parties and plenty more crazy fireworks.

I then ventured to the chilled out Caribbean/Jamaican-vibe country of Belize, which happens to be the 40th country I've been to so far, Belize it or not (a pun the locals never cease to use). I was so relieved with the English mother language (my Spanish is dreadful and has caused a massive headache with travelling here), I think I spent half my time here just talking to the incredably friendly locals. I explored some impressive Mayan ruins hidden away in the depths of the jungle, often being the only visitor. I also went on an incredible caving tour - we would be swimming through the underground maze with just a hard had and head torch before coming to vast caverns that were covered in hundreds of undisturbed Mayan pottery and even intact skeletons over 1500years old (all offered as sacrifice).

From Belize I went to the huge Mayan comlex of Tikal in Hondurus, home to over 2000 ancient structures. After going to the colonial island town of Flores, I spent a long time in the Bohemian town of San Migel on Lake Atilan, where I just relaxed and practiced my yoga and meditation in the chilled out place (and meeting a lot of strange and wonderful people that this place seems to attract).

I then headed on to the bland and uninspiring capital of El Salvador which, as luck would have it, also had a festival on, so there was actually something to see.

As you can imagine, there is much more I packed into this month of travels, with many more people that I have met and many more stories I could tell, but I doubt anyone would want to read a blog that long!

Note - photos continued on next page


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.1426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb