June 4 - Promise Kept


Advertisement
Published: June 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Boys and Soccer BallBoys and Soccer BallBoys and Soccer Ball

My very happy little friends!
June 4 - Promise Kept

I was waiting in the car with my driver for Major Hertj to accomplish the prayer shawl mission. She had been held up in traffic on an errand. Of course, wherever I go I am a big curiosity. In a short time, my side of the car was surrounded with a group of young boys. They were asking the usual questions - who was I, where was I from, why was I here, etc. The driver translated them to me and me to them. Then they began to excitedly chant a phrase of which I made out a single word which sounded like 'bawl'. The driver explained they wanted a soccer ball to play with. Through the translator, I said "Sorry, I don't have a soccer ball". Amidst moans of disappointment, one lad said something...translated to me as "maybe you can bring one with you the next time you come?" I have to admit - I took the easy way out and said "yes, maybe I could bring one next time".As they walked away, one lad said something which was translated to me as "no she won't bring one, I know".

A moment later, Major Hertj called to say I should come back in about an hour. So the driver and I left ... on a mission ... to find, guess what? Of course, we found a soccer ball!

After completing the mission with the shawl, I asked Major Hertj if she could send one of the boys sort of hanging around to find the boys who talked with the white lady about a soccer ball. Within minutes, there was a group of boys gathered around and talking excitedly. Through the translator, I explained that "I always keep a promise and had brought with me a special gift". I held up the soccer ball amid cheers. I explained I wanted a picture and they posed willingly. Then one boy said something which was translated to me. "Somebody needs to teach her Creole so we can talk together!" I said 'Oui" to loud cheers! Then they were off to play with their new soccer ball, leaving me very pleased with my mission.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb