Mayreau and the Tobago Cays


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
January 18th 2009
Published: February 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mayreau is a small island that I found to be quite similar to Petit Martinique, it is located next to the 5 small islands of the Tobago Cays which are ringed with amazing coral reefs. We spent only a few days around the area, far less time than we should have spent as I could have snorkelled round the Cays day after day. We spent our time exploring Mayreau and found that the island was extremely steep; in fact, I think I doubled the strength of my leg muscles just from walking round. The island didn’t seem at all touristy, apart from one fancy hotel where we ended up one afternoon to steel their internet.

The highlight for me was snorkelling in the Tobago Cays, we were informed that the area offers some of the best snorkelling in the world and we certainly weren’t disappointed. There was so much coral and fish of all shapes, sizes and colours; including some rather nasty fire coral that I am still recovering from. I was on my way back to the boat after snorkelling for about half an hour, when I turned round to see a shark about 20 metres away swimming straight towards me. I looked at the shark for a good millisecond before turning round and swimming as fast as I could in the opposite direction. I later found out that the creature I saw was probably a nurse shark and is relatively harmless, so perhaps I should have hung around and admired it for a little longer. I got such a huge thrill from it though, it was definitely enough excitement for the day. So, after a short stay in Mayreau and the Tobago Cays we stopped briefly in Union Island to refill our water tanks before heading to Bequia, the best island in the southern Caribbean.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

TurtleTurtle
Turtle

I didn't actually see a turtle, I stole the underwater pictures from a Dutch guy we met in Bequia, but it gives an idea of the sort of stuff we saw when snorkelling


5th February 2009

Sarah - it all sounds fantastic!! Could we have a little more gossip though. Who used the last of the toothpaste? How you're sick of eating just one type of food and other such excitingly interesting facts... Miss you!! xx
6th February 2009

Jealous...very jealous!
hi Alex and crew, looks and sounds like you are having an amazing time cruising the caribbean...well done! Enjoy yourselves, times like this make for very precious memories. All the best safe sailing Shelagh Tasker
16th February 2009

Hi Sarah got your email ,glad to see you are enjoying yourself looking forward to seeing you at Easter take care love nana.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb