Cruising the caribbean


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
October 27th 2008
Published: October 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

WOW! THIS IS THE LIFE!!

So you know me, I dont like to brag, and as most of you know I am not one to rush and tell you about my travels or bore you with photos (mind, it would help if I had a camera!!), but this is one holiday I am gonna tell you about. Why??
Well, two things, firstly because part of the enjoyment for me in life is to share things, and in the hope that as a friend you will find pleasure in my pleasure (keep it clean), and at the risk of p****ing you off with envy I want to tell you what a fantastic time Ive just had.
And, secondly, although pretty much in line with the first point (sharing) I would love my telling this story to encourage you to consider a crusie for a holdiay (NO, I am not on commission)

So, here goes....

Now most of you know that I believe (and live my life by the belief) that we we create our reality by the thoughts we put out there. If you're interested in why I firmly believe this just ask one day...Or watch The Secret for a commercial explaination. A quick example is that I always dreamed of running a retreat centre somehwere beautiful, and yes, I have just been asked to run a centre in NZ this time - also on the other hand I was wishing for somehwere to stay for a week whilst I had people renting my house (the van was a little cold), and I ended up in The Maelor hozzy - so be careful what u wish for!
So how did this cruise come about. Well, even though I go to NZ each year I dont consider that a holiday - rather simply a lifestly change, so mid September I felt I needed a holiday, a bit of adventure and began contemplating Greek Island hopping. The for some reason I got a bit scared with the thought of being a middle aged female travelling alone in a place I dont know - and as you know my map reading skills are...somewhat limited! So one evening as I was driving home from Wrexham the though of a cruise came to mind.
Well, I have to say that I am/was the last person to consider a cruise. I always thought they were for retired or middle class folk - and me being a down to earth commoner felt I wouldnt fit it with the G&T crowd. However I stopped my car and added the work cruise to my remider list for the next day. I thought Id look on the net for info and offers. Within two minutes I had a call from a friend, Marie Claire, who wanted to chat. I asked her to call back as I was driving, which she did when I got bac to LLan 20 mins later. She wanted to make an appointment to see me but the only week I was free was October 18th week. "No" she said, "Sorry cant do, Im away that week". We got talking about her holiday and it turned out she had booked on a Carribbean cruise and was in fact looking for a room mate. So without ado (funny word that) I booked - instantly!.
Turns out it was a Bob Proctor Cruise. For those of you who dont know he is heavily involved in The Secret, so at least it meant I would be with like minded people.
Despite only being signed out of hospital the day before with a changeable temperature (hint: keep drinking iced water before the temp. round) I was keen to get away. So we flew from Mancs to Fort Lauderdale (a bit pricey I thought) booked into a Marriot Hotel. Very nice and reasonable then went shopping in K Mart. Cheap and cheerful. (a bit like Primark but with smiley staff). The next morning we were shuttled to the boat in a limo type thing (some folk would be impressed by this - me, Nah, Id have bin happy in a tuk tuk). But bloody hell when I saw the boat (actually it's a ship I believe). It was the size of Princess Street but with 11 floors - amazing.
From that moment on I felt like royalty. The staff were amazingly attentive, extremely polite (but not slimey at all) and the cabin lad Sam, well, suffice to say he met my every need!! Such healing hands. Chocolates on the pillow, (bit messy when you come home p****ed and forget they're there. He brought me extra gifts - a soft cotton robe, extra body lotion, even a free bottle of sparkling wine. I felt so nurtured.
The the food - well. 6 different restauraunts, food available from 6am -1pm and then you could ring room service and have food brought to the room 24 hrs a day. I didnt do this but Marie Claire did. She is more comfortable with using the facilities on offer. There were 8 bars including a piano bar, jazz bar, Ccktail bar, beer bar, and my favourite place was the Silk Den - How Tantric is that. Mmmm.
A beautiful healing Spa room with all treatments you can imaging, a gym, Yoga, all that stuff was open from 6am - 10pm, two swimming pools, hot tubs and saunas. Absolutely perfect. Well almost. There wasnt a meditation programme, so what did I do - I started one up and held Natures Sensory Awakening Mediations each morning at the bow of the boat. What better way to greet each day.
The rooms were luxurious. The ship, MS Eurodam had only sailed once before so everything was spik and span (another strange phrase). we had a verhanda which was great for the old naked sunbatheing and morning meditation...imagine waking up, stepping into the morning warmth, meditating on a secluded, then opening your eyes to see the beautiful Bahamas in the distance. Perfect way to start the day. The Bahamas was a lovley lush island with much greenery. Me being me decided to do it the hard way and took a truck 2,000 feet up a mountain then moutain biked down through forest and fordds, visiting local communities en route and ending up at the edge of a cliff over looking an amazing azure ravine, the deep crystal clear ocean 20 foot below me. And yes, u can guess, the only way in was to jump.
So most of you know me as being a bit crazy, a bit of an adventurer, a brave fearless soul. Well I have to let you into a secret. It seems I have a fear of jumping from high to low. In NZ I ended up behaving like a big girl (oh, I AM a big girl) when I had to jump 10 meters into a gorge. Tears, hysterics the works. If ithadnt been for our Adam reminding me Id done far more risky things than that years ago I would probably still be standing there on the rock. So when I saw this jump I though I d be fine - but no, the fear returned. Now, I wasnt about to do the hysterics thing again, but one thing that gives my fear or anger away is my choice of language. Not only was the sea blue, but the air quickly turned the same colour. As I ran and made the jump all they could hear was f**** SH****!. However, it helped and I spent the afternoon snorkeling in cool waters.
Next port of call was Jamaica. Now, again those of you who know me are well aware that I love Gorge walking & waterfalls, and so when the opportunity to walk up The beautiful Dunns Falls I was well up for it. What an amazing experience. We walked down to the beach and began the ascent from there. A 12ft wide fresh water gorge running into the sea. As there were some dangerous bits we were encouraged to support each other and so when we were asked to hold hands and make a line I was very happy to be between two gorgeous chaps who were extremely supportive. Turns out one was a millionaire, the other something big in the Bob Proctor Arena. Still nice chaps. I have to say the biggest challenge for me was to accept the help offered. At one time I did find myself doing the old pattern of being as big, strong, confident and capable as the men. I decided I wasnt wanting to stay in the line, following like sheep, so what did I do? I noticed a more challenging climb, where two men had diverted to, and I chose to take that path - bloody typical of me!! I was fine, and enjoyed the challenge but realised how ungainly it must have looked from behind and below. There I was legs akimbo stretching all ways dressed in a see through sarong and tiny bikin bottoms - ARGH - not a pretty sight! However I did learn a lesson. I nolonger need to prove myself. I am great as I am - even as a girlie girl. (I even worse nail varnish on this cruise)
Then we had a couple of days at sea which was totally relaxing. Drinks by the pool bar, music, fod brought to me, lovely company, interesting intelligent communication, some really close connections (NO, Mair, not like that, although....). Warm days, not too sunny, just nice. In the evenings I chose to dance the night away whilst Marie Claire was networking or doing a spot of Kareoke. She has such a presence. Elegance in action.
We did make a call at Grand Cayman Islands where I went on a sailing boat to snorkel again - its just another world down there, such beautiful colours, shapes, textures, so quiet and calming. The fish are spectacular. I didnt do the swimming with dolphins thing, but MC did. One thing I should have learned by now, but obviously havent is that drinking free rum punch on these sailing trips is not the best thing - before lunch. The first time i did it was in 1982 on the 'Come afloat in Georgies boat - no nookie only lookie' in Corfu. Free OOzo - need I say more. Who was the first to get naked and dive for the bottle of champers - I was. Who was the one who joined a group of 8 army blokes haveing their arses photographed - I was, who was the one....no thats enough I think . You get the picture. So you would have thought that twenty odd years later I would have mellowed a little. well, I have, but guess who was the one who began the on board dancing, who was the one who initiated the communal sun cream rub, who was the one whose sarong got caught in the rigging. Yep, you got it. ME!!!!
So all in all I had a brilliant week. Marie Claire got what she wanted out of it - business contacts, and I got what I wanted, fun & friendship. Seems thats what I put out there in my thoughts which is a reflection of what I want to attract in my life. Thanks to you all for being part of that. So if any of you wanna find out more about creating the life you want, Im happy to share it with you. PS I lost weight too what more could I ask for.

Love to you all



Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb