Journey from HELL!


Advertisement
Published: May 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, thats it! I'm finally on board. this is the second day of my mighty adventure on the Titanic (well, its almost as big as it!) but let me tell you about the small amount of fun I had before actually sailing.

Well, everything was going well, too well some might say. I'd got checked in the day before with BA and got to the airport on time. Everything hunky dory. The flight was going fine until we got over Ireland (Cork to be exact) and then the engine started vibrating. Now, this vibration wasn't any ordinary vibration, but a "if this isn't sorted out we're going to crash and or die" sort of thingy, so we did a quick U turn, jettisoned the fuel in the faces of some passing ducks and returned to heathrow.

A tedious 4 hour wait ensued until they could bus us from one terminal to another for no apparent reason, and eventually we took off again. Words cannot express my joy at flying past cork. I still hold it singularly responsible for the flight buggering up.

So we got to Miami about 4 or 5 hours late, meaning it was 1am USA time, but 5am Rob bodyclock time. Then, and this is where i started to lose it. WE HAD TO QUEUE TWICE TO BE INSPECTED BY THE BIGGEST NUMPTIE IN THE WHOLE OF THE USA! I'm not kidding, this guy must either have been Forrest Gump simple or had decided to be a complete swine, but he kept us detailed until 4am yes 4AM! with no good explanation as to why.

By the time I got to the Hotel, I had time for about 1 hours sleep, but this wasn't to be either. They had neglected to tell me I was sharing a hotel room with some non english speaking Indonesian Grease Monkey who insisted on doing his prayers, so buy the time I actually got on board yesterday you can imagine what state I was in!

Well , I've got to go to work, setting up some backdrops. Tune in soon to hear about my first day on the job!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0681s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb