St. Thomas Snorkel with Teens . . .


Advertisement
Published: February 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

This week is American Thanksgiving which means schools are out, families are on vacation, the ship is packed and we are busy in the teen club! I am so happy to have a co-director for the busy holiday cruises, especially on this ship because it is so huge. Kristina and I work really well together. Thankfully, considering how many teens we have onboard, so far things have been going really well and the group is fun and friendly.

Today we were in St. Thomas which is the day we offer a teen excursion. Not surprisingly with the number of teens onboard, we had a half dozen sign up to go out on the tour with us. Kristina, myself and half a dozen teens met with the rest of the tour group outside on the pier and then boarded a small boat. We headed off the coast of St. Thomas to a tiny little uninhabited island to go snorkeling. The water was really choppy today so it was a wild ride! We were flying over the waves! Seriously airborne. Crazy, but fun.

Our first stop was shipwreck bay – a spot with one sunken ship and lots of fish. I hadn’t been in the water since Fiji – it was so nice to be back in the water swimming, snorkeling and exploring! The shipwreck was pretty interesting and there were plenty of fish. Lots of coral, but nothing too spectacular. (I think I’m becoming a snorkel/dive snob!) I made it my mission to try to get some cool photos – and I’m thrilled with the one I got of the straight-on look at the one fish.

Our second stop was at Turtle Bay where we saw turtles! I love love love turtles so I was excited about this part of the tour. There were a few other boats of tours there too and I tried to avoid them, hoping to still find turtles. I got lucky that I found one where nobody else was. I was patient, hovering up at the surface, waiting, until it swam up to the surface right nearby me to get some air. Loved being so close to it!

The group of teens who went on the tour were really fun. We laughed lots with them today.

After we returned to the ship and got the teens back onboard, Kristina and I freshened up, then headed back outside to meet up with Jazzy and Jenny. The best part of this itinerary that we do is that we are in St. Thomas until 8pm – a nice long day outside! We met at a restaurant along the harbour for happy hour drinks and I was pleased to find some fantastic vegetarian options on their menu! So it was a great dinner and start of the evening with the girls . . . but all the good stuff always comes to an end – work calls every night! Glad to have had a nice tour though so early in my contract.



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The MarriottThe Marriott
The Marriott

Hoping to get there for a day at some point this contract . . .


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb