Dream Cruising . . .


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Caribbean
November 20th 2010
Published: February 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I’ve made it through my first week on the Dream and so far so good.

I’m lucky that I have some friends here from previous ships. Circle C is the younger teen club and the directors of that club are the closest thing to an immediate co-worker that I get. Jazzy was the Circle C director on my last ship, the Spirit, and Jenny was her replacement (for when I was in Hawaii and Alaska). Currently Jazzy is finishing up her contract on the Dream and Jenny has arrived to replace her! It’s great seeing them again. There are a few other familiar faces around the ship and I’m working at meeting new people too.

On the Dream we alternate between cruising the Western and Eastern Caribbean. This week was our Western run which took me back to Cozumel, Belize, Roatan and Costa Maya. In Cozumel I just headed out to a café and used the internet for a few hours. In Belize I had corporate training and caught up in sleep. But in Roatan I went out to explore a bit.

It has been years since I’ve been to Roatan and I can’t believe how much it has changed! Carnival has built a multi-million dollar cruise facility with shops, a few bars/restaurants and a walkway with a chairlift option to a beach. Last time I was here (just over 2 years ago), it was a big construction zone. Now it is so nice! I can’t believe the difference. I went out with Jenny, Jazzy and Kristina (my co-director for the next 2 months over the busy holiday season) to the beach. It was very busy because it’s so close and free for the passengers, but it’s pretty nice. It was good to get out.

The following day in Costa Maya, I just briefly went outside. I went to Costa Maya my first contract. Later that year, a hurricane hit the area and the entire ship pier was washed into the ocean. The cruise facility and surrounding area also had a fair bit of damage and it was almost a year before ships returned there. I was interested to see it now. It’s pretty much the same – I guess the repairs were pretty much just to get things back to the way it was before. That day I also got my first look at what I call the “Monster of the Seas” (the oasis – the biggest ship at sea). It truly is huge.

Next week we’ll be going to Nassau, St. Thomas and St. Maarten – all ports I’ve been to but it’s been quite awhile. It’ll be interesting to see what has changed there too.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Chairlift to the BeachChairlift to the Beach
Chairlift to the Beach

Really though? It's faster to walk . . . only cruise ship passengers . . .


6th February 2011

Roatan changes every time I am there too, and I'm there at least once a year!!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0904s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb