Long time gone.


Advertisement
Published: September 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's been a while since I wrote in this so I'm sure there are a few people out there that are waiting for some sort of news... or not?

Well I hurt my toe so I've been named flipper once again because I can only wear one flipper when I'm out snorkelling which sort of sucks and doesn't work well when there is a lot of current. I, of course, saw an amazing caribbean reef shark when I was practically unable to swim yesterday making me the easiest target if he were to get angry. uh oh.

I think I'm settling into a routine finally. I wake up super late and stumble around still half asleep and slowly wake up during morning classes (sometimes not as much).

I have a test today where we have to go out in the field, aka mangroves, and identify 20 random organisms by their scientific names and higher taxonomic groups. I never thought I'd be able to swim in the ocean and suddenly think of, thats and Abedefduf saxatilis. Thats a real fish, its pretty. LOOK IT UP. I feel like a nerd, but what's new?

After getting a bit of bad news from back home, I've found out how incredible the kids on this trip. Not just the kids that I've become good friends with but even the randos that have happened upon me while crying. I've really appreciated it and I'm so happy they're all here to make me feel wanted and cared for. The staff have also been amazing and even wrote me a cute letter and placed it in my cubby (yes, we have cubbies).

Yesterday when we went snorkelling, I tried to get into the water but my bathing suit snagged on the boat and i was left hangging by it for a minute before someone figured out what was wrong. IT HASN'T BEEN MY 48 HOURS. On the bright side, I think my toe is getting better. I scraped it up pretty badly sunday night and it simply refuses to heal.

I got a few kids to take some awesome pictures of me underwater with my one flipper so hopefully those pictures will be hitting facebook or this blog soon.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb