DAY 11 - AUG 9


Advertisement
Published: August 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello from beautiful Bequia,



I'm sorry I missed a day so I will be sending out two entries today.


This morning on my way over to the harbor I'm joined in my walk by one of the neighborhood dogs. There are hundreds of dogs here on the island and they all look like they have the same grandparents. I think they need some new blood in the gene pool. He follows me all the way across the island which is over 2 miles. When we reach the Gingerbread he lays under one of the tables and I get the idea this is not his first trip to town. Because of his dark chocolate coat, I decide to name him "Cocoa".


For the morning I went to an area know as Old Fort. I passed by several of the model boat makers' shops for which the island is famous. These craftsmen spend as much as three or more months creating detailed hand carved models. Some wealthy yacht owners commission these artists to create replicas of their mega-yachts and schedule to pick them up months later when they return to the island.


A large majority of the island's tourist trade is centered around the yachting crowd. Even though this is the slow season, I still counted twelve catamarans anchored at Princess Margaret .


For the afternoon I head back up to Mt Pleasant. The other day when I was there my camera battery went dead and so I didn't get to travel all the way to the end of the road. On this island, once I head down a road, I usually just keep going till the road comes to an end.


This time I continue past the perfect picnic field and past the radio towers and over the back side of the hill which goes down past some modest, but nice homes. I find some cows on this side of the island. There isn't a lot of grazing room for livestock here because everything is so overgrown.


Many of the houses are hidden from view by the lush foliage. I come over the hill and around a corner to see a massive valley leading down to a small beach with what looks like a "farm" of palm trees all seemingly planted in nice straight rows. Hitting the end of the road I find no way to get to that beach, so I must give in and head back the way I came.


At the top near the radio tower I venture up what I'm not sure is a road or a driveway. There are a few houses shooting off from it so I'm thinking road. About half way up two watchdogs (who are very good at their job) come barking and showing some teeth. Normally this kind of thing wouldn't faze me. I would just ignore them and carry on and sooner or later they would see the bluff in not working and go back to the porch. These dogs were VERY GOOD with the bluff, so they persuaded me to find somewhere else to explore.


That's all for day11. Few words, but many photos.

Bequia, Mon,
David


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



11th August 2008

Fort and Coco the dog
awwwwww.....coco is so cute. What a sweetie!!! So about the fort.....what's the story behind that. Looks extremely realistic. Wonder when the last time it was used. Be safe...continue to explore and have fun.....but again....be safe.
14th August 2008

Are you going to bring the doggy back with you???
He's really cute!!! By the way, aren't you supposed to be wearing a shirt?????? ; )

Tot: 0.363s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.2403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb