DAY 6, AUG 4


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

!!! WARNING!!! Today was not very interesting. Be sure you are seated because reading today's blog may cause drowsiness or sudden sleep. Do not drive or operate heavy machinery while reading this blog and do not read with alcoholic beverages.

Warning aside, I know, now, that I am adjusting to island time. I got out of bed an hour and 45 minutes after sunup. The day began with a clean, close shave. I know many of you were expecting me to return home with that "Tom Hanks Castaway" look, but if my beard gets very long at all it just starts to itch too much and besides I didn't want to have a white face when I got home and shaved.

Breakfast was home-made banana pancakes topped with passion fruit jam. MMMMMMM, Gooood! Yesterday I got too much sun, so today was mostly spent sitting in the shade and writing. I had the blog almost done and was uploading the final couple of pictures when something happened. I don't know what and it was all gone. Fighting back the expletives, I began again from scratch.

In the afternoon, I went down to the Gingerbread and paced off the distance from their dock to the dock in front of the Whaleboner Bar. Right at 100 yards. Back at the Gingerbread, I made three out and back swims for what I'm hoping was 600 yards.

After a dinner at home I set out to make a couple of small cakes. One for the neighbor family down the driveway from me, and one for Allen, Meg, and the girls downtown. When I went to turn the oven on I was proud of myself for getting the pilot light lit. (cooking with propane is a new experience for me) The oven dial reads 150, 200,250, and some random letters on the end, so I crank it up all the way. Ten minutes later the cakes smell like they are burning. Well, you guessed it--Celsius. So I turn the temp down to 200 and the cakes are saved. At least I think they are saved, its hard to tell when dark chocolate cakes are burned.

Marcia calls at 9:15 and I get to talk to her and Kat for a bit. It sure is good to hear voices from home. This is a beautiful place to visit, but I'm not sure yet if I could live hear. It's a pretty quiet pace.
I can't wait to get home and share all this with all of you.


Disclaimer: The writer of this blog is in no way responsible for accidents, loss of work, or injury form sudden boredom induced sleep from reading today's blog entry. Tomorrow promises to be more interesting. I'm heading to the far southern end of the island to a place they call Moonhole. Tune in tomorrow for more interesting details.

Yah Mon, Bequia
David


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The WhalebonerThe Whaleboner
The Whaleboner

The white arched entry is made from the jaw bone of a whale.


5th August 2008

cooking
The pancakes sound yummy! Look yummy too. But the sunburn looks...."ouch". Love your place, but I need air conditioning.
5th August 2008

Are you using a self timer on your camera??? if so, nice work! your pictures are great! it was great talking to you last night. hopefully I will talk to you again soon. Have a good day today and I can't wait to hear about it.
5th August 2008

Pancakes
Dear David- I am glad that you are still in the pancake business. Looked great. So sorry that you are missing our wonderful weather. It feels a lot like your first try with the oven! Be safe. Have fun! Sent with a hug and a prayer. tu amiga, Cheryl
6th August 2008

private message is better
Hello to eveyone. thanks for following my blog and adding your comments. To Cheryl, Kat, KC, Brian, Carlot, Karla, and the whole Paul's gang, If you will click on Private Message and send me email, its much easier for me to mail you back. Thanks again for keeping in touch with me. It really nice to hear from home. Yah Mon, David
6th August 2008

Time Difference?
What is the time difference? Neil
6th August 2008

I am on eastern time.

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1113s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb