Saline Bay


Advertisement
Published: February 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We are still at Saline Bay. Planing on moving boat to the North of this island, there is another bay, called Salt Whistle. Probably will be doing this within the hour.
There is a low that passed over us this morning with lot's of wind and some rain. We welcome the rain, Boat needs a good washing.
We have been here for 2 days, Jeris and I caught a taxi up to town yesterday morning, spectacular view of the Tobago cay's. Cost us 10 EC for both, not bad. Was well worth it or we would have had to climb the "mountain". Jeris right foot, ankle, is a bit swollen, a malady she has had for sometime now.
We also went to the beach. There were some vendors. I asked the cost of a tank top. Was told 12 US each. Came back to Pete, who was in the water, asked him if he wanted one, said yes.
I grabbed a 20 US from my pocket, left shorts in dinghy, walked back up to vendors, said I would like 2 of them but I only had a 20. Lady said no, I said thank you, walked away. Went back to dinghy, told Pete she said no, Jeris and I went walking towards the caves, and a woman runs up says she would take the 20. hehehehe, bargain tactics.
The day before in Union, Clifton, we went to open market, wanting some okra. Lady said 3 okra for 1 EC. Jeris asked, how much for the whole bag, lady said don't know, have to count them. Geesh. So off i went, to last booth, I bought a few oranges and then said to woman there, do you have okra? Yes, how much for this bag? 2 EC was response. I bought it, came back to Jeris with my pride possession, oh my!
We know what we want to pay, the problem is these last week of the year and next very popular with charters. The Europeans are here in mass, and throwing money right and left. Makes it hard on the cruising budget. Lobsters, 1 lb for 30 EC's or 12 US a lb. too much! We didn't buy any, and that includes the whole body. a loaf of bread, 10 EC. Horrible!
This week the going rate has been 2.60 EC for 1 US dollar. So you see the problem?
We are asking for some weather files this morning, would like to spend a few nights on the Tobago Cays. Will advise when we do.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0951s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb