Mini update


Advertisement
Published: June 20th 2018
Edit Blog Post

IMG_20180618_071924IMG_20180618_071924IMG_20180618_071924

Still drowning in fruit
Not much of an update because I've not done a lot with the rain. It was better weather today, but I just went to town to get some few things, then I've had to do some work for a presentation tomorrow to the doctors on sickle cell disease. Just so many patients with that.

So the baby with kidney problems should finally get some albumin tonight, because the private hospital managed to pull some strings and source it sooner. So Victoria hospital is paying the private hospital to have some. So good news for her.

I felt pretty smart yesterday when I was the only person there that knew what a hemiplegic migraine was and had to explain it to the doctors because a young girl almost definitely had it, but they'd never seen it.

I was also pretty shocked at their lack of blood tests. I was asked to come up with the tests for a girl, and half of the ones I said weren't on there. And they aren't rare tests. One was just to check her iron levels. They don't have that test at the lab. I guess iron deficiency just isn't very common, so
IMG_20180620_184735IMG_20180620_184735IMG_20180620_184735

Proof that I am doing some work here
they don't bother.

One of the doctors gave me a tamarind ball, which is like a local sweets. It basically a local fruit covered in sugar and baked. It was nice, but they were all shocked I'd never heard of a tamarind before. Its a citrus fruit apparently, but if you google it, looks more like a peapod or peanut.

There's also a weird thing here where you can't pack your own shopping bags. The cashier does it. It makes everything super slow and I don't see the point. I bought a bar of chocolate and a drink today, and I thought she was gonna fight me when I didn't let her put it in a bag. And you can't put fuel in your car, there's an attendant who does it, which also takes ages if there's a couple of cars there. No wonder everyone here is so laid back and bad at time management. Everything takes forever and you can't do it yourself.

Not much else to say really. Hopefully going to the beach tomorrow now the weather has brightened again, so might have more to say then

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb