[Insert Clever Title Here]


Advertisement
Published: July 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey all -

It's been a while since I've written. The last group of undergrads left and a new group has arrived. I turned in a large grant. I've gone to monkey island and gotten some data, although not nearly as much as I would like. Whatever, I just have a certain number of goals and I would like to reach them before I leave. To walk away with a functional experiment this summer - that would be heaven! I actually think a lot about starting to write up and get some stuff out there. I would love to put a lot of energy into that this year.

I'm starting to think a lot about my trip to Costa Rica. I have to book a place to stay the first night (even though I get in at midnight), and buy some travel insurance. Only like 10 more days before I leave! Arg! I have so much more left to do! Most just about getting organized and getting the right stuff before I leave. I also, as some point, have to write a little proposal about what I'm going to do while I'm in CR. Not sure what to say!
3 Undergrads in San Juan3 Undergrads in San Juan3 Undergrads in San Juan

We were on the hill just infront of the fort. On the other side, lights from the city light up the night. I had to take a long exposure to get anything to show up... but it basically looks like that at night... its really neat. Over in the harbor, someone was flying a kite from a boat at night.
Its hard to write a proposal for a little study for a place you've never been. Especially when you going to "do something with the primates", but its not entirely clear what that situation is like. Maybe my project is just to walk in to the jungle and try to find them (or see them running away while yelling at me?). Not sure. I guess I'll find out. I'm excitied about the fact that there are a lot of other people there right now. So I'll have plenty of people to talk to while I'm there. The place I'm staying sounds very very nice... by field standards. Its run by the South Africa couple, so they've put in electricity from solar panels and hot running water. Wow-wee... that's awesome for the "field". They also ahve internet. What is nice about that is that I can continue to work on my Cayo data while I'm there. I'll have a good sense by the time I get back to New Haven in the fall about what worked and what didn't.

I got to work with my advisor on monkey island the other day. It was so relaxing and productive... ahh. If
The fort at nightThe fort at nightThe fort at night

When we were walking up the hill, a gang of bikers went thourough... not motorcycles, but real bikes, with flashing lights and people that wore helmets. Not sure what they were all about, but maybe 30 of them bombed the hill we were on.
only all my days on cayo were that awesome. Its so much easier when I work with Laurie! If only I had her intuitive monkey sense.

For fun, we have been playing a lot of mad libs. Mad Libs!?!? I haven't done that since I was like... 10 or so. Its been awesome. For fun, we otherwise go to the beach, or go out to eat. We've been eating a lot of Pollo Tropical because laurie loves it so much. Its this puerto rican fastfood place. Its tasty alright, but I don't really see it as the most fantastic thing that ever happened to the planet. We saw the movie "wanted". its ridiculous. There is this group os assasins that get their orders to kill people from a loom.... a loom of fate. Aparently, no one ever goes in the room, so its weaved by ghosts or something. All very strange. I don't know it this is based on an actual comic book... but it was a pretty shitty movie... and spectacular in its shittyness. I sort of enjoyed it.

I'll keep everyone posted as when I actually do something cool...
love
Kelly




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

walking away from pastillioswalking away from pastillios
walking away from pastillios

its a little restuarant. Not really sure how to spell that name. it smells a little like cat urine, and makes a damn good empanada/hot pocket. I especially love the conejo... the rabbit... although they were out of that the last time I was there.


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb