Entry #1: The Genesis of my travels.


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Hello folks! This is the beginning of my travels here. It has almost been a month since I arrived, and it sure has felt like it. I have been through a series of dengue fever and serious cravings for foods of all different types. Turns out waiting a month to meet fun people with similar interests (I'm referring to when my classes start) is a bigger pain in the a$$ than what I had originally thought! It will all be worth it though here in a few days, not only do classes start in 11 days, but people will be all moved in in 9. So all I have to do is hold on a little longer and I have already made it through the toughest part of this trip!

So far on this trip, I have seen two iguanas on campus, a batman walking down the road, flying cockroaches from hell, intense rain storms, and people of all sorts. The culture is very vibrant down here. Ovens are not heard off, mostly everyone still uses gas stovetops and nothing more to do cooking. So I have had to say goodbye to anything cooked in an oven (baked spaghetti, Totino's pizza, and anything else delicious).

My spanish is coming along but is not quite near where I want it. Next month's progress will be off the wazoo though with all my classes, talking to people, etc. I also plan on picking up swimming once classes start at the university pool, free for use by the students. So that is exciting as well.

I have learned how to cook authentic rice, fish, chicken, and steak puerto rican style, and I rock at it. It smells glorious, too, so that's a plus.

I am looking forward to seeing everybody at Christmas time!

Advertisement



6th August 2012

Wow!
This is a great idea, Zack! I will share your blog address with the family so we can all keep track of your adventures.

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb