drruth does Panama


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama
February 5th 2006
Published: March 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Last leg.
I know the caption is "drruth goes to Panama" but I felt it necessary to do this leadin drive from Wyoming to Texas to give readers a view and remind myself of what had transpired before getting on the plane bound for Panama. Just another twist from the usual blog of jumping off one plane and onto another and BINGO here we are. We drove the last 214 miles from Dallas to Houston on Sunday the 5th. This was 1456 miles from our driveway now in Wyoming we left five days ago.
The next five days I had allocated for acclimating to a warmer, lower altitude country. Well, it was lower all right but warmer?? Hardly. The wind was blowing and, thanks to the higher humidity, I was cold all the time. I dipped in our daughter's hot tub but that just isn't the same as our mineral hot water. We also went ate out several times at some of the wonderful Houston restaurants which also is a lot different than our usual spartan fare of soups and salads. Bought a few more things to take which I didn't need. My hearing aids had broken just before I left home and now was realizing how much I was going to miss them around people who weren't accustomed to being around me. By the time I was slated to fly out of Houston on Saturday, I was already tired. We now had been gone from home 10 days.
February 11. The big departure day is here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb