Canals, Locks and Taxis


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Panamá » Panama City
December 8th 2007
Published: December 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, here we go again!!!

Here I am in Panama City. It's a bizarre old place. Kinda makes me think of how Havana may have ended up without Fidel.

I've been here a few days now I guess, and I'm having a good time. It's been really cool to catch up with Rachel. She seems to have a good life here with lots of cool friends, even if sometimes it feels like I've stepped into an episode of the OC! The night life is pretty good, I've already managed to not sleep one night, and not a lot last night either.

Seen some of the sights, like Casco Antiguo, the old town, which was particularly Havana-esque. And the Miraflores locks. Now they were cool.

I headed out there with two Aussie lads, and hen we got there we realised we'd have to wait over 2 hours for a boat to go through. But it was worth hanging around playing (and continuously losing) sh!the@d for!! A HUGE panamax ship went through with inches to spare either side. Really impressive. Apparently they charge to go through based on weight, and the least paid was $0.36, by some yank who decided to swim the damn thing.

Anyway, my head's not really working, a bit like the USB port on this computer, so pictures and more sense will have to wait until another time.

Right, I'm off to watch the footy, and then find somewhere to see Ricky Hatton do his thing. Laters!

Oh yeah, taxis! It's in the title, so I should probably mention them!!!! They SUCK!!!! Big time!!! Most of them ignore you and refuse to stop. The ones that do stop usually pretend they don't know where you want to go, or just plain out don't want to go there. If you want to go somewhere, you really need to allow an hour for that crap. It's driving me crazy, bring on the wonder of Buenos Aires taxis. They may take you the most indirect route possible, but who cares, they're friendly, cheap, and you can get one as soon as you walk out your door.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



9th December 2007

canals
That's Panama and Corinth done, just Suez left?
10th December 2007

He say 'YES'
I may be wrong but didnt the man from del monte come from panama. This could be a good time to pick up an all white suit and hat.
23rd December 2007

Taxis
Taxis?.......What's wrong with buses?

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb