Panama


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Panamá » Panama City
February 1st 2007
Published: March 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Flew into Panama City and was shocked to find that a cab from the airport was $25 so I found a hotel by the baggage claim that charged $20 a night including airport pickup. I didn't have a Central America lonely planet so I just went with them and would figure it out later. Lodging in Panama City is pretty expensive and $20 was about the norm. PC stays in the Hotel California but I wasn't up for moving my stuff so I just stayed where I was. Went to the Miraflores locks and the casco viejo. The Panama Canal was a lot cooler than I had expected. Tons of American tourists there. Some rough barrios in Panama. On several occasions people stopped me to say that I couldn't walk in a certain direction due to maras, thieves, whatever. When I was done with Panama I went to the Tica bus station for a ticket to San Salvador. They said they were booked for a week but that I could go standby any morning and if I was lucky I might get a seat. Showed up early the next morning and at the last minute got on a bus to San Sal. Arrived 36 hours later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb