muelle en san blas.. hahaha


Advertisement
Published: June 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

foodfoodfood

every day we got fresh sea food
the title is after a song from Mana.. one of the best spanish bands out there.. and bascally the ones who got me thinking about going to panama...
well I never thought it would be possible, but I found my way to San Blas. After consulting with The Book ( lonely planet) my friends and I decided that it was too hard and too expensve to go to San Blas. The book says if you dont fly, youll have to go to Colon (whch is extremely dangerous) and then catch two more buses to Miramonte...

To my luck, I stumbled in Panama City a bit earlier, and discovered that now, there are Kuna Yuma Families willng to offer you food and a hammock. It is $20 for a 4 hour ride, then $25-30 a day which includes all 3 meals, water, activities for the day ( going to different islands) and a hammock. The family I stayed wth was very nice. One day it was raining for a good 45 minutes and being stuck inside the kitchen, the women of the tribe decded it would be fun to dress us up in traditional molas and outfits. and let us taste traditional food. which was a soup with water, potatoes, fish, and some herb. THe family served us fresh chicken, fish, and lobster. it was great. I lived in an island in a small village. The people are still tradtional with hardly any electricity, tv, computers. The people are all friendly and there are tons of kids who follow you around and want to speak to you and brag about there accomplishments or just know the outside world. They try and practice there english as well.

After breakfast, so 10ish we would spend the entire day going to different islands. San Blas is the ideal islands. .. lots of islands, some as small as a soccer pitch and others wider, with nothign but white sand, palm trees, clear turquiose water and maybe a hut. I went snorkeling and saw stingrays, fish,
dolphins. The coolest thing was the men went out fishing in the even ing and i got to come along. they cast out a line and caught a baby shark!!! we touched it and then set it free.

the shtty part was on the way back, my packback broke, so i lost my underwater camera, a tooth brush, hair brush, and my cell phone!!! ahhhh i dont have a n alarm anymore, or anyones numbers... haha the perils of traveling.

all this was my favorite part of panama.. I only planned a two week trip to panama but if i had time, I would of ( and can almost recommend becuase i have talked to many people who did ths in the hostel) taking a boat to or from cartegena, colombia, to panama and stopping in san blas islands.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

village 1village 1
village 1

this is the village i lived on


Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb