Panama Canal Cruise


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Colón
October 1st 2011
Published: January 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Panama Canal Cruise

The trip included two days at sea. I did not mind. I love cruising and being on a big ship. I love the entertainment and the endless buffet.I embark in Ft. Lauderdale, cruised down to Aruba. From there to Cartagena (Colombia) then to Panama, and the Panama Canal. On the way back another port of call was Limon in Costa Rica. Then on to Ocho Rios in Jamaica. 10 days later I disembarked in Ft. Lauderdale.

The Panama Canal has been on the "bucket list" for quite some time. I have been putting it off and putting it off, well since forever. There was always something else I wanted to see. Something more exotic, something more urgent, and the time and opertunity was never quite there. Truth be told, I never had a good enough incentive to make this trip happen. I just recently, at that time, managed to survive a very depressing episode in my life and was ready to pick up the pieces again. So I finaly decided it was time.

During the planning stages, I wondered which would be the best way of seeing this man made wonder. I did some basic research and discovered a cruise was the only way to go. Since cruising is also one of my favorite fun activities, I decided to just go ahead and make my visit a reality. Two flies with one stone. A nice extended cruise, and then another item to be crossed off of my "bucket list."

The cruise would take me to other countries, other unknow, uncharted ports of call. I made the booking and anxiously waited for six months to pass.

Living in Orlando, Florida necessitated for me to travel down to Ft. Lauderdale by car. This trip is about 3 hours. Slightly less, but then you have to stop for gas and a snack. I listen to "cruise" music I burned on a cd. This compilation include songs from Jimmy Buffet, Bob Marley, and other artists that epitomize the Caribean cruising experience. Well it appeal to me at least. It also include some english cover songs of more popular Latino salsa music. Just to get you in the right mindset.

For this cruise I made a point to get there early. I wanted to board as close to the start of the offical boarding time, when passangers may commence boarding. It was not nearly as hectic and crowded as my previous cruising experience. I then had additional time to spend onboard and made the most of it exploring the ship. This was also the time I had a few fruity drinks, with those little umbrellas.

For the first time in all the cruising I did, it started to rain when we departing. It was too wet outside, so I watched the city disappear over the horizon from a lounge with a nice glass of wine.

The next day was spend at sea. I just walked around the decks, sitting in a deckchair and stare at the ocean. I took a book to read, but never finished it at all. I caught myself dozing off every now and again. Realizing it was a losing battle, I did as so many other passengers, just curled up and had a nap. The barely distinguishable roll and sway of the ship was so hypnotic. It put this big baby to sleep in no time, I am sure the wine I drank contributed to my relaxed state of mind. It is a strange thing to realize just how much stress and tension one accumulate, and how effective the ocean can melt it away.


Our first port of call Aruba.



We arrived very early in the morning and I had a quick breakfast. Unfortunately it was still drizzling on and off. The excursion I planned in Aruba would not expose me to the wet weather. My journey would take me under the sea. I booked an excursion on the Atlantis Submarine. A quick boat ride out to where the submarine was anchored off shore and we were ready to take the plunge.

I was concerned that we would experience claustrophobic conditions on board, but my fears evaporated in an instant. The sub was spacious and air conditioned. The inside was painted white and it made it light and airy. I am sure they carefully planned ahead for the fear factor. I did realize that if the hull was breached while we were under water, there would be no survivors, but I kept that information to myself. The layout left us single file to the escape hatch, and no one was trained to open it, except one of the crew members. Well their safety record is impeccable, as there was never an accident during all the years of operation.

As any submariner will tell you, you don't even know you are more than a hundred feet under water. The ride was so smooth and quiet. There was a chop an the surface with maybe 2 to 3 foot waves. Yet, once submerged it was smooth sailing. I took some photos through the port holes lining the sides. The water was a bit murky due to the foul weather,
Island Princess.Island Princess.Island Princess.

Pelicans. My favorite bird.
but you could recognize the fish and a few ship wrecks. In all this was a most pleasant experience, and in hindsight another "bucket List" item I could finally cross my list.

We eventually surfaced and was taken back to the port in an oversized motorboat. I must say, it was one of the most memorable experiences I had. Back on board the Island Princess there was just enough time to get ready for the meal, and the nightly entertainment.

Cartagena Colombia.



The next morning I awoke early to glimpse Cartagena appearing on the horizon. I took some nice scenic photos. This would be my first visit to Colombia. It took most of the morning to get the ship into the harbor and docked. Then it took even longer for the passengers to disembark and board the various buses, taking them on their excursions. I decided to visit the "old city" to see the historic side of Cartagena. On top of that, some of the excursions are really expensive, with no real value.

A little shuttle bus took us into Cartagena proper, and from their into the walls of the old city. As always there are millions of photo opportunities and I am known to be "snap happy." I can, and do take photos of as many things as possible. My trusty Canon is always at my side. Thinking of which, I need to upgrade some of my lenses soon. Our shuttle driver / tour guide was very funny and informative. He accumulated a wealth of information doing this line of work, and where knowledge fails, he amused us with a joke or two on the subject. I was amazed / shocked to learn that Spain imported a million African slaves to help construct the fortifications and the famous Castillo San Felipe de Barajas.

As always, any tourist / foreigner is always the mark for the local scam artists. On this trip, no exception. But I just followed the travelers golden rule:

"I don't look at, or acknowledge you. You don't even exist in my universe!"

Then again, I do have a mean look on my face most of the time. I probably scare them away anyways. Lol. No, I am a very loving, personable and peaceful person. - Until you stick your fake Cuban Cigars in my face. -

I also enjoyed the visit to the Spanish inquisition torture chambers / museum. To balance things out, I really liked to see the statue, and learned the history of one man trying to make a difference amongst all the horrors in those days. Saint Peter Claver.

All too soon we had to return to the ship to depart on the next leg of the trip.


Panama Canal



With sunrise we approached the fist locks of the Panama Canal. This was the ultimate reason for my trip to see the Panama Canal. You can not visit the canal from land, not without a lot of arrangements. The best and most scenic alternative is by ship. Most cruise lines has the Panama canal as a destination, so it is easy and relatively inexpensive. Depending on who you ask.

It was quite a struggle to get a good vantage point on deck to experience and take photos and videos of the canal. All the passenger's had the same idea. I was fascinated with the way all the ships entered into the canal. Having the "mules" with tow cables keep them straight and a tug boat, push them forward. The Island Princess was the biggest and tallest structure in the canal A lot of sailors on the other cargo vessels were taking photos and videos of us. What an oxymoron. Although there were only a few locks to navigate, the operation was quite slow. I did not mind as it was so fascinating to see how a ship climb the stairs, until they were let loose on the lake. A few passengers elected to take an excursion which took them clear to the Pacific side of the canal. In hindsight, it should have been my selection as well.

I stayed with the ship and spend the rest of the afternoon on deck. Mainly eating and drinking and napping. I once made a mistake on a previous trip, and my Canon battery was discharged while I still had many photo opportunities left. I was so mad with myself. I then went ahead and bought 3 additional spare batteries. I will never make that rookie mistake again. So I took this time to go back to the saloon and started charging all my spare batteries. I cleaned my lenses and other equipment. On board I take photos with my Point and Shoot, a Canon G15. Love that little camera, it is so versatile.

Before too long all the passengers started to return from their excursions, and the Island Princess reversed the process and we climbed the stairs down to the Atlantic ocean. This time round there were significantly less passengers on desk to record the spectacle. I wanted my moneys worth and faithfully recorded every moment.

We then sailed to the port of Colón, Panama. We docked and I briefly visited the city for souvenirs and refrigerator magnets. Something I have a huge collection of already.

As night started falling over the city, we sailed away to our next destination.

Puerto Limón, Costa Rica.




Costa Rica always make's one think of tropical jungles, and villages established in remote jungle areas. As this was a first visit for me to Costa Rica, I was anxious to see what they had to offer. I elected to do the jungle cruise on canals and rivers. A bus transported us from the harbor to our point of departure on the riverboat. The bus route was quite scenic and I got to see how many Costa Rican's live, work and play. Our bus driver and tour guide was equally knowledgeable and hilarious. They made the trip so interesting and enjoyable.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Island PrincessIsland Princess
Island Princess

Theatre. Nice shows.
Island PrincessIsland Princess
Island Princess

The atruim.
Emerald Deck.Emerald Deck.
Emerald Deck.

My cabin stateroom was perfectly positioned.
My StateroomMy Stateroom
My Stateroom

Balcony is the only way to travel.
Island Princess BridgeIsland Princess Bridge
Island Princess Bridge

I hope they were not looking at what I was doing in my stateroom.
SeagullSeagull
Seagull

Such graceful birds.


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb