Santa Catalina and Bocas Brava


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Finallly, i have the internet back lol. After leaving Panama City I took the bus to Santiago from there to Sona (and no, I Didnt see any desert or prison) then from there to ther Pacific Coast to Santa Catalina. I went out the night before and when we returned to the hostel at 6am I fell asleep while Chris was packing. Being the heavy sleeper nobody could wake me so Chris left at 7am without me. I woke at 11:30, check out is 11am so I grabbed what I could and left asap, unfortunately I packed to quickly and forgot my camera... DOH. It took me about 6-7 hours with no waiting at any bus terminal. When I found myself a hostel I was randomly put in a room next to Chris. He said he left at 7am and only arrived an hour before me. I guess I was very lucky.

Chris is sharing a room with a guy from Israel called David. Me and him headed out to to another hostel who was renting out surf boards and offered us a 2 hour lesson for $20 each. Had a good time learning with a proffessional surfer from Brazil. Crazy guy and really funny but I was pleased as he said I had alot of potentiol. I was standing within the hour. Really good feeling but alot of hard work. Had to learn Yoga to surf though. He said it was good for the body. Dont ask???

At this point I was running out of cash and there was no ATM there so I had to leave. Luckily the hostel where I was surfing I met Marc and Max who I´d met in Panama City. The invited me to Bocas Brava which is a Nature reserve island just North of Santa Catalina. It was another 7 hour journey but definately worth it. When we arrived there were 4 tourists (inc us) on the whole island plus 4 nature workers and the hostel staff. Very nice island and within 1 hour of walking through the jungle we had Howler Monkeys follwing us. Butterflys the size of your hand etc. I had a Macaw on my hand in the resteraunt too and whilst I was hanging around waiting for Marc and Max to return with the camera then had been stood outside our room with a 5 foot Iguana. I was gutted I missed that but they had photos. Everything happens so quick.

The next day we rented Kayaks and paddled to a few different islands. Really cool but being the idiot I am I forgot to put suncream on my feet. A few hours later and they´d swelled up twice the size. 4 days on and Im still limping around, my feet have started to blister now so think I should be recovering soonish.

We caught the bus to David the next day, only a few hours so it was pretty relaxing. Managed to buy a new camera here after a long drawn out process which I wont go into.

Advertisement



17th June 2008

DOH
I dunno - what we gonna do with you mate? Forgot your camera, burn't your feet! silly boy! Glad your enjoying it while some of us are grafting hard here in sunny Yorkshire! You'll struggle getting back into work As for the Tequila incident, nothing new there, you never could drink!! lol

Tot: 0.725s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.6917s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb