I got one... then lost it.


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Chiriquí » Cerro Punta
November 13th 2012
Published: November 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday wasn't a particularly eventful day until night.

I went out to look for frogs or salamanders and I actually found a frog! They sit right in the little pools of water where the fronds of the bromeliads meet. I went to grab it but it disappeared down into the murky water. I reached down in between the fronds to try to grab it, but lost it. I have to say, there's something creepy about reaching down into the leaves of a really big bromeliad. I have gloves on, but I still half expect something to bite me.

I looked around for more frogs, following the sounds of their calls and ended up back at the first bromeliad. The frog was out again, and I went to grab it.

It was in my hand!!!!!!

And I lost it.

Then I saw it poke it's head up again and almost had it once again, but then didn't close my grip around it fast enough. Oh well... today is another day (or night)!

I also realized that I can't tell whether people are saying spider "araña" or frog "rana". Someone asked me about the frog today and I had to listen really hard to figure out which they were saying. One of these days I'm going to think someone says that they found a frog, and they'll be holding a huge tarantula or something!

Advertisement



14th November 2012

you are so brave!
Hey, Em! I love reading your entries and look forward to them every day! You are quite brave to reach into the unknown and kill huge spiders. I won't ever want to live in Panama! Although you are far away, I feel like you are closer than ever. Thanks for sharing your days with me!
14th November 2012

:)
Thanks for reading them! glad I'm not writing to nobody :)

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb