los niños


Advertisement
Published: October 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, I woke up and finally got the hot shower I’ve been wanting. Well, maybe hot isn’t the right word. Luke warm? Better than freezing cold, anyway. After getting ready and eating a handful of cereal at my house since my milk was in the refrigerator up near the office, I looked around my house for salamanders for a little while.

When I got bored, I made my way up to the main office and started going through scientific papers once again. I don’t know why I thought that would be less boring. After a while, I noticed that the other girls were outside repotting orchids, so I asked “Puedo ayudar?” or “Can I help?” They said “Sí” and I joined in the festivities. Eventually, they all decided it was time for lunch, so we all went over to the kitchen together. I’m noticing a theme of ramen noodles with all of them. I had Campbell’s chicken with rice soup. I really remember that tasting better when I was a kid.

After lunch there were two kids running around, a boy and a girl. The little girl kept coming over, sitting down, and trying to talk to me. She kept touching my hair and saying “amarillo” or “yellow.” She kept asking me how to say her name, Janeth (pronounced Janet) in English and I kept telling her “la mismo” or “the same” but she wouldn’t believe me. I started letter her and the little boy type words on my computer and then I would tell them what it is in English and they would try to spell it. They were so cute! The little boy started playing with my flashlight and I had to keep telling him to stop shining it in his and Janeth’s eyes.

When they left I went back out and helped the girls with the orchids again. Eventually, we finished up and everyone left but Yolanis, because she lives at Finca Dracula too. My parents Facetimed me and then I Facetimed Wes. I was getting hungry, so I knocked on Yolanis’ door and asked her if she wanted to walk with me to get fresas con crema (strawberries and cream!). She said yes, so we walked down to a fresas con crema stand and then ate them on our way back up to Finca Dracula. It’s getting easier for us to communicate, because we both are learning each other’s limits in English and Spanish. I asked her if she wanted to climb Volcan Baru and she got really excited and said she did, so I might have someone to go with me when I decide to do that again.

When we got back to Finca Dracula, she used duolingo.com to practice her English and I used it to practice my Spanish until we got bored and went back to our respective homes.

It was an absolutely gorgeous day today. There was no rain, only sunshine and we were walking around in jeans and t-shirts instead of 3 warm layers. Also, I’ve definitely noticed that Spanish is getting easier, and even as I type I’m almost typing some words in Spanish instead of English! Pray that it continues to get easier!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb