BE GRATEFUL FOR WHA YOU HAVE


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Chiriquí » Boquete
August 13th 2012
Published: August 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I have learned a great lesson today; be ALWAYS thankful for what you have.



Here is how my day went in quick review:



Woke tO the sound of tha cockamani bird and I believe this morning he brought his bretheren to join in the circle around my window. I could only laugh.

Headd to the shower to freeze my you know whats off and foun there to be NO WATER. I tried several times thinking there might be a delay. Nope. No water and my family had left for the day so i could no ask what as going on. What I failed to realize or make th connection in my brain was tha if there is no water for the shower well than there is no water for the toilet either. Aaaggh!

So a couple of wet wipes and off i went into town to spend the day and hike some trails.

Fast forward to the evening..

I am enjoying a terrific meal prepared by my host mother. Did you know Panama has 7 words for banana?

After dinner I want to extent my gratitude to her so I said in spanish a phrase I had been pacticing all day "your cooking is wonderful". I was so proud of myself until my host sister Yilka looks at me curiously and than begins to laugh. She grabs my dictionary to show me i have just insulted her mother by saying her cooking is DIRTY. My host mother had not heard me so I was ok until my host sister told her. Just great!!!

I was thankful she has such a cheerful disposition and is patien wit me. She tells me after dinner that we have unning water agin. what occued was due the heavy rains the night before, the ground had collapsed crushing the plastic pipes.

Psyched for a shower I bid good night and headed to my room. I could hear the toilet running as i opened the door and stepped into the river flowing from my bathroom into my bedroom.

Yes the silly americana had left the knob in the ON position and now had a pool in her bedroom.

I was mortified! I feared I had used all the resources of the houses on this mountain to put a pool in my room.

It took me all night to clean up the mess using my one and only towel.

And I was up to meet the bloody rooster as he prepared his screams for the day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb