Guacamayo


Advertisement
Published: January 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

A few days ago I got back from the Comarca Ngabe Bugle- a place called Guacamayo on the Peninsula Valiente. My second trip was just as great as the first. It was a lot drier this time but still plenty of rain. The house I stayed in is on the edge of the rainforest with a very muddy trail between- the kinda mud that you can sink in up to your thighs. I've never been fond of this kind of mud or the solution to get across it. Wood boards or tree trunks are set down in the mud. They are usually covered with water and you have to feel your way around until you find it. If you miss, you end up getting sucked into the mud, sometimes as deep as your waist. Fun! I managed to only fall into the mud once on that trail thank goodness.

Did I mention I slept on the floor with 5 kids? I was made watcheyman of the kids from 6-14. It was a big room but the girls were all huddled together. It's suprising cool at night. Their parents slept outside with their baby sister in a makeshift room made up with sheets for walls. The last two nights they came into the room with us "kids" and made their make shift room in there. Which ment we kids squeezed together and since I'm the tallest Ngabe around, My feet ended up touching the other wall and the kid who had to sleep against the wall. It was an interesting few days.

I also carried a lot of coconuts on my head, went to the finca several times and collected lots of plant samples for my study. I can't wait until the next time I'm there!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb