Estaba bien metedo in la Comarca Ngabe Bugle


Advertisement
Published: September 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have just returned from the most beautiful place- Peninsula Valiente in the Comarca Ngäbe Bugle in Bocas del Toro. This huge area juts out into the Chiriqui lagoon off the Caribean coast of Panama in Bocas del Toro province. It is a long way from nowhere. It took 3 hours by boat from Isla Popa, which is 1.5 hours from Bocas! Once I arrived, I had to carry my bag along a sidewalk from Ensenda to Gucamayo, about 1 hour from Kusapin. I ended up in a typical Bocas house- up on stilts made of wooden boards. There is an excellent ocean view from the porch and the hospitality was great. I was greeted in english by Steven, my friend’s brother. He has taught himself english mostly through books and a little help from random gringos. My trip to conduct my research ended up being that and 4 days helping Steven with his English, he was relentless with it. The commuter hike became a 5 hour English lesson! More to come after I eat. I’ve been living Ngabe style since Thursday which means I was lucky to have a cup of coffee and some pudding today. I’m starving!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb