We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give.


Advertisement
Published: April 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

cute dogcute dogcute dog

another cute dog roaming around the camp
friday 3/26

Another day I was looking forward to. We knew we would be working on the reforestation project today. Reforestation is basically: "the restocking of existing forests and woodlands which have been depleted."
We hoped on the motor boat and drove to a secluded location....a secluded, marshy location. There were extra ankle length boots waiting for us, thankfully. The mud we'd be walking in would cover our ankles.

I put on plenty of sunblock....except for my back!! And face! Normally I am very anal about covering my face...this time I simply forgot, but my back got the brunt of it. Erick and Neil carried the heavy trays of plants out from the motor boat. There were three other locals there that did not speak english but were very grateful to have us there. Our job simply included us walking around and....well...planting. In 5 years time, the trees that we planted will be enormous, lush and green....

Sadly, it got hot rather quickly. We did that project maybe two hours before we took a quiet break under a shady tree. Erick had brought sandwiches, pineapples and papaya, along with gallons and gallons of water! All of us were tired, sweaty, and hungry.

We sat under the shady tree for a while, getting bit up by god knows what. (some weird silver bug bit me, right through my clothes!) The locals taught us some phrases in spanish, we taught them some phrases in english. Then, it was time to go. They were VERY grateful for our help!

Upon returning to the camp, we had a loooong break. And by break time, it was nap time, lunch time, reading my book time, and swimming! It was a nice leasurely day!

After the turtle night patrol, we came back and there was a little party going on. Many locals. It was Neils and I's last night, so on a volunteers last night they have a cookout! Once again, Evelyn was there with her fabulous food and I was there to eat it! A man named Juan was there, who was nick named "the president" he is apparently the president of the turtle project, I think, if I understood correctly.

Anyway, Juan had a guitar and was playing songs as we sat out on the beach, mearly feet away from the waves. When he wasnt playing his guitar,
he was very friendlyhe was very friendlyhe was very friendly

he followed me around
Neil had supplied us with his i-pod and what else could be on but Bob Marley! I had some coke and rum, although not much, it was so strong!

Finally, around one am, I began to poop out and it was beddy bye for me!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

dogdog
dog

made me miss my two little pups
ReforestationReforestation
Reforestation

Reforestation project.
trees!trees!
trees!

Once again, Neil working....and me...well, not
heavyheavy
heavy

those trays full of trees were heavy! let the guys carry them
Neil and ErickNeil and Erick
Neil and Erick

enjoying a beer on boat ride back to our camp
NeilNeil
Neil

drinking water, trying to cool off. It was so HOT
Shen and IShen and I
Shen and I

"enjoying" a beer back to the camp....we both are not crazy about beer, but we drank it anyway!
another Iguanaanother Iguana
another Iguana

this one did not "hang around" like the other one
Iggy part 2Iggy part 2
Iggy part 2

he ran off into the water shortly after I took this
Neil and ShenNeil and Shen
Neil and Shen

sweaty from all the hard work of planting trees!
localslocals
locals

I like this pic, those locals were nice. We'd teach them a few words in english and they'd teach us some words in spanish
hammock areahammock area
hammock area

these cute table and chairs were right by "my" hammock
me plantingme planting
me planting

or "pretending" like Im working.... lol. In five years time, those trees should be huge
my backyardmy backyard
my backyard

I am never leaving here
Neil and I Neil and I
Neil and I

I wish I had NOT worn that shirt....my back got so burned
hammockhammock
hammock

on hammock after a shower
dorkitisdorkitis
dorkitis

I actually liked this project....planting trees and enriching the environment....all while sacrificing ourselves to the heat! It feels good helping the environment
trekkingtrekking
trekking

trekking through the long grass
break timebreak time
break time

this was our snack once we took a break from planting


Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0799s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb