Panama Rules, now I am in Ontario


Advertisement
Published: March 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Nauyaca Waterfalls, Dominical CRNauyaca Waterfalls, Dominical CRNauyaca Waterfalls, Dominical CR

Every picture is a postcard here, this place was amazing and well worth the 12km round trip hike.
Hey...

So a last minute desicion landed me in Panama and I am glad I went. Panama is one of the most beautiful countries ever; the people, the landscapes, the 50cent beers, and amazing beautiful waves. Total I spent about 11 days in Panama starting in Bocas Del Toro for about 5 days, crusing to the Panama canal, which for those who dont know is nothing but a very large canal, so basically if you have seen a small canal elsewhere, just imagine it bigger and thats how the Panama canal is; then to Santa Catalina for some more surfing, then a 12 hour bus ride back to San Jose CR to barely make it back in time to catch my flight home. But what a mini adventure, I will be back to spend more time in Panama, that is for sure.

All in all, the trip was amazing. Not once did I have something bad happen to me. You here all these horror stories from fellow travellers about robbings and muggings but they are rarely truthful, pretty much just wives tales i think. To all who come across this entry, do not hesitate to travel these countries, they
Campanrio Biological Reserve, Osa Peninsula, CRCampanrio Biological Reserve, Osa Peninsula, CRCampanrio Biological Reserve, Osa Peninsula, CR

This is what I did every morning for 3.5 weeks. I called it the TV. Its pretty much the best spot ever to enjoy the a.m. java.
are amazing and the people are very friendly and hospitable, always making efforts to help.

It was very hard to leave such an amazing place, filled with such kindness and respect for one another. Now back in North America, it is very evident to me the differences between the two lifestyles. We here have so much, so many opportunities. I think this overload of opportunity has ultimately blinded our ability to be real to one another. In central america, they have so little, but to me seem far richer, not monetarily but in content. Having less makes people bond and increases the ability to appreciate, a trait North Americans very much lack.

The trip for me was very good for the brain. I am leaving feeling a very evident sense of increased calmness, a calmness very much inspired by beautiful scenery, surfing my brains out, chill people and awesome travellers. My favourite spots were Malpais, Dominical, the whole Osa Peninsula, and every where in Panama.

I'll end this last entry with some of my favourite photographs i took over the course of the trip.

peAce, shane.








Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Its all about the TRANQUILOIts all about the TRANQUILO
Its all about the TRANQUILO

Kinda makes you wanna be around palm trees.
Surfing Rio ClaroSurfing Rio Claro
Surfing Rio Claro

This is me returning from surfing rio claro on the Osa. It was a 2 hour hike to get there and the hike back was always in the dark. Waves always to myself.
Playa Llorona, Osa Peninsula, CRPlaya Llorona, Osa Peninsula, CR
Playa Llorona, Osa Peninsula, CR

A 28km round trip hike to a waterfall hidden by the tides. A higlight of the trip for sure.
Malpais, CRMalpais, CR
Malpais, CR

One of the best spots to see the sunset. A rock outcropping in a beautiful bay where you could sit and waste the day away with ease.
Malpais, CRMalpais, CR
Malpais, CR

Me surfing one of the biggest waves of my life, thanks to whoever caught this pic for me. This is in Malpais, the swell was amazing, consistent double overheads.
Bocas Del Toro, PanamaBocas Del Toro, Panama
Bocas Del Toro, Panama

A Bottle-nosed Dolphin playing in the wake of the boat.
Rio Claro, Osa Peninsula, CRRio Claro, Osa Peninsula, CR
Rio Claro, Osa Peninsula, CR

The beach at my usually private surf spot at the Rio Claro.
Isla del Cano, Osa Peninsula, CRIsla del Cano, Osa Peninsula, CR
Isla del Cano, Osa Peninsula, CR

The lookout from the Isla del Cano trail.
The token meditation picture...The token meditation picture...
The token meditation picture...

You gotta chuck in the meditation pic. This is me sitting under the tide-hidden waterfall at playa llorona in Corcovado National Park.
Malpais again...Malpais again...
Malpais again...

If you are not getting the hint, go to MALPAIS, it is the shit.


26th March 2006

you're in it.
"I think this overload of opportunity has ultimately blinded our ability to be real to one another." yep you are so in it my friend! i could'nt be happier for you shane. this trip was meant to be. it has changed you...i havent seen you yet but i already know. you see things...beauty that is beyond words...and suddenly you look at your life back home in a completely different light! ive been there...it's an amazing place to find yourself in and im so proud of you for taking this trip! cant wait till i get to see you and all of your shots. Playa Llorona, Osa Peninsula...wow. you have a gift shane. pure beauty. miss you! stothejack
28th March 2006

Very Cool
Really appreciated the updates... welcome home.

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb