Little Corn Island


Advertisement
Nicaragua's flag
Central America Caribbean » Nicaragua
December 21st 2005
Published: December 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well Little Corn Island officially takes the prize for the most beautiful place I have visited so far on this trip. Picture Utila except without the sand flies, without the annoying scooters and golf carts, and with better and more beaches. The closest thing the island has to a road is a 200 meter long sidewalk on their 'main strip'. Hell, when you get to the island, the closest thing they have to a dock is a makeshift set of wooden steps that they place at the front of the ponga for you to walk down. I found Jason no problem and then I was off to casa Iguana to put my pack down. It was maybe a 10 minute walk down a dirt path through the Jungle to the cabanas. While the Cabanas were not right on the beach, it was only a 30 second walk to get down to the beach. Met Warrick, and we took a stroll around the island walking on white, deserted sand beaches. Absolutely lovely. If I could recommend one place to go to it would be LIttle Corn.

On our trip around the island, Warrick and I decided it would be best to make the reservations for Jason's b-day at Fun, Love and Peace: An Italian Woman's house who makes a 3 course meal if you reserve 24 hours in advance. As it turned out, Jason could not make the dinner...too bad for him, amazing lasagna, good pizza and a superb frozen chocolate moose. It was definately worth the 12$. I guess that would be the down side of Little Corn...kind of expensive. Expect to pay 10 dollars a night at least, and then almost 10 a meal. Although I guess when you get two lobster tails, rice, fried plaintains and a beer for 10 dollars you can't complain.

Anyway, from LIttle Corn we decided not to chance a ponga showing up on time, especially Caribbean time, so we headed to Big Corn for the night and stayed at Cafe del Mar. Really cool place but I got absolutely ravaged by sand flies. Not as bad as they were on Utila, I just thought I didn't need my mosquito net. Oh well. They don't itch, yet.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 15; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb