Nicaragua/Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: October 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

THings are going great...we are now in Costa Rica after being in my favourite country so far. Nicaragua was so great. The weather wasn't very good but the people and the places we were in were amazing. First we went to Grenada where we stayed in the nicest hotel there. It was quite posh, and we got some funny looks when we all piled in with our back packs and muddy shoes. The town has so much character and history behind it. You could spend a few days just walking around looking at the historical sites. There was one cathedral that my friend Edd and I were visiting that was completely torched in the 1700's but is being restored. The original cement face of it is still scorched but inside is completely finished. We were walking around the front of the building when I saw a guy on the roof, he was calling me over to him and I couldn't understand what he was saying...after some really broken english and hand signs I figured out he was working on the roof but needed help down. I helped with his latter and he was so thankful that I helped him. After a little more broken conversation, he led us into a section of the church that was chained up. It led to the bell tower of the church. Edd and I walked up to the top and had an incredible view of the city. Got some good photos and headed down. Im not sure I can explain why but I was so thrilled that he did that for us. The people in Nicaragua were all so friendly. I think they have gone through so much in the past that they are so happy with what they have now, which is very little. It's a very poor country.
After 3 excellent nights in Grenada we headed to Omatepe island on lake Niceragua which is the second largest fresh water lake in the world. It was formed centuries ago when to massive volcanoes erupted and closed off the bay to the pacific ocean. The really cool thing is that all the species adapted to their new surroundings and fish and mammals that were once salt water evolved into fresh water. The only bad thing is that it has the only fresh water sharks in the world. You have to be a bit careful. The weather wasn''t very good on the island so we pretty much just hung out around the beach and hotel area. But didn't stop some of us from night swimming fueled by local rum, and the security guard at our hotel was only to happy to open the bar for us at 3 am to get us another bottle of rum in exchange for a few cigarettes.
We left Nicaragua yesterday at 4 am, and headed to the surfing town of Tamaringo in Costa Rica. The town is over run with american tourists which has driven up the prices of everything, and it just doesn't have the same feel as the rest of the places we have been to. There is more tourists or gringoes as locals like to say then there are locals, and everyone speaks English. I am looking forward to moving on but the sun is out and it's hot so it's beach time. Gott run. Adios


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Grenada7Grenada7
Grenada7

Gotta love the goat


1st November 2005

The pics are great
Hi Troy It was good hearing your voice on the phone. Your pictures turned out good and can't wait to see more. love mom
4th November 2005

Great pics!!
Hi Troy, You really sound like your having a good time!! I love your pictures they look like they should be in a magazine! Keep up the good work!! Love T
5th April 2006

ASOME VACA.
Going to niceragua was the most fun i've had in my life
29th August 2007

Lake Nicaragua
The lake is the 10th largest in the world I believe. There are the Great Lakes, Lake Baikal, and a few others larger.. Your description of the area has greatly improved my education of the area so I will be ready for my journey there in January. Tamarindo is a zoo.. I agree. Been there, done that.. Puerta Viejo is nice, though...

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb