Leon to Granada


Advertisement
Published: February 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Places visited - Leon and Granada.


We have heard some nice things about Leon so were looking forward to it, unfortunately we were very disapointed. There was nothing to do and the place we was not very nice so we stayed just one night and headed to Granada. The only thing we enjoyed in Leon was the Museum. It was very modern and wouldn’t off looked out of place in London. Lots of great art from famous artist of Central America and some more modern art which looked really good. I should be a critic!

Granada was totally different and lived upto our expectataions. We got to Stay at the Oasis hostel which is one of the best Hostels we have stayed at, very chilled out with hammocks and sofas to lounge about on and a swimming pool to cool down in. The pool was about as big as a snooker table but still a pool! The town was very pretty, with lots of bright and colurful colonial buildings and reminded us off some of the towns in Mexico and Antigua in Guatemala. This is the biggest tourist town in Nicaragua and it shows, lots of things to do around the area and nice restaurants to eat and bars to drink at, as usual this brings higher prices but this place was worth it.

A story for you. I went for a haircut and the barber asked me if I would like to have a shave and thought why not. It's the first time I have ever let anybody else shave me so I was a bit nervous! The usual just like I have seen on T.V, lent back in a chair similar to a dentist chair the razor blade with white ivory handle, they must all be given these at barber school! Then he would be sharpening it on his leather strap thing or what ever it is and then a few different creams rubbed into my face and then the shaving foam not from a cup but from Gillette can, so not totally traditional! He then began and a bit to quick for my liking and I was just waiting to be cut. I was trying to keep my face as straight as possible but couldn't get the thought of Sweeney Todd out of my mind, which made me smile for being so stupid! The worse bit was when he was doing around my adams apple and neck in general where unfortunatly he decided to take his time, it was like being at the dentist where all of a sudden all your throat wants to do is swallow and I was concentrating as much as possible not to, I could feel my self starting to sweat. I think he could tell I was nervous as he began speaking to his mate in rapid spanish and laughing, this didn't help. He brightened the mood by then in english saying 'he hopes I will tip well!' Not bad time to ask when he has a razor to my throat, luckerly he was smiling! Afterwards I was glad to get out of their, it was good for the experience and only cost 2 quid for a haircut and shave so thats pretty good. To sum it up, I think shaving is like wiping your arse, you have to do it yourself to make sure your totally happy!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 22; qc: 99; dbt: 0.2065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.3mb