Atlanta to Managua to Granada


Advertisement
Published: December 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Cheesy eggs and grits with Girly Whirly at Waffle House at 6:30 a.m. If the food wasn´t so good I´d vow never to eat there again. MaryAnne finally suggested I not watch the cook while he prepared the food. Wise girl, that one, though advice that came after I watched him use his ungloved hand to push food around on a plate. My only consolation was it was not MY plate. How can I possibly travel to third-world countries if I can't even eat at a Waffle House? Excellent question! I'll get back to you on that one...

MaryAnne is enjoying life... which is how it should be. After she dropped me back at the airport she was headed to Indiana to teach at the EMT school where she certified a few months ago. They´re anxious to get her up there full-time and she´s wanting to establish residency for medical school so most likely she´ll look into housing during this trip.

The 9:50 a.m. Managua flight was open with extra seats in first class. My first choice was San Jose, Costa Rica but the flight was almost full and my chances of getting a ride would have been slim.

I always feel a slight thrill when arriving in a new country and it was made even greater today by the lack of Cordobas (the local currency) I had on me as well as the lack of information about where to go and what to do once I landed. Usually I spend a few days researching a place before I arrive. Consequently I landed in Managua, went through customs and stood for a moment in a crowd of people thinking, "Now what?" It makes life a little more interesting; planners never get to veer off the beaten path and I am in major veerage mode at the moment! I´m fully prepared for the throng of letters concerned family members are about to send me, so write away and I´ll just keep telling you that you have nothing to worry about....I could be in Jakarta with a quarter in my pocket and figure out a way to get home...with a great story to go with it. Nicaragua is my 16th country and I have been to all of them alone, so quit worrying Aunt Marilyn.

Made my way to Granada and The Bearded Monkey, a hostel I´ve heard about for several years. Granada is beautiful, nearly 80 degrees and breezy and I´m anxious to do some exploring before I head south in a day or two.

Hope you enjoy the travel journal.... thought it was about time I start sharing the journey, so to speak!

Debbie



Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 8; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb