El Subjuntivo


Advertisement
Published: January 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Flavia described past-perfect subjunctive as "the saddest of all the verb tenses because it's used to express regrets and missed opportunties".

These are the 2 most complicated sentences I've ever written in Spanish (I think they are correct).

Si no hubiera llovido,
habia visto los monos.


If it had not rained,
I would have seen the monkeys.


Si hubiera sido una gladiator americana,
no habia trabajado en IHOP.


If I had been an American Gladiator,
I would not have worked at IHOP.

Advertisement



1st January 2007

Correction to Spanish sentences
Hi! I know how difficult the subjunctive can be. Even native speakers don't get it right sometimes! If I may, I'll point out a slight mistake in the Spanish sentences: - Si no hubiera llovido, *habría* visto los monos. - Si hubiera sido una _gladiadora_ americana, no *habría* trabajado en IHOP. Regards, Ignacio Buenos Aires, Argentina http://web.fi.uba.ar/~perrico/
2nd January 2007

bueno pues
porque si no hubiera despertado, no habia respirado la niebla de la manana. es que te extrano bastante, janine! que te cuides.- arline
2nd January 2007

oh my gatos janine. what fun! what adventure!! thank you for writing your stories :)

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb