of allergies, returning home for 2 days, and taking off again!


Advertisement
Published: March 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well. Here I am. Monday. I got home yesterday afternoon at about 2.30. Immediately dropped my bag and hugged Lenin. It was a long week. And I missed him.

So the language workshop ended Thursday night and then we stayed in Managua Thursday and were supposed to go home Friday morning.

Except. That Thursday afternoon I came up with some kind of allergy. Started with a rash around my neck and my feet. By Friday morning it was EVERYWHERE. So clearly I went to the PC med office - PCMO - and they said, yup, it´s an allergy to something. Perhaps the other component of the amoxicilin? ... that you´ve been taking for 10 days.... we don´t know. Go to the hospital and see this dermatologist. So I did. And she said, yup, it´s an allergy. And put me on steriods, Allegra, super-jacked-up-benadryl, and two creams.

So that was Friday. Saturday I woke up and it was significantly better. And I wanted to go home. First, it´s hella cooler up north here than in Managua. Second, I wanted to get home to see Lenin and DO LAUNDRY. I was planning on explaining this to my PCMO when she came in specially to see me on her Saturday... and we had a very good convo. And I didn´t go home. She wanted me to stay until today, Monday, morning. I said no way. That I was leaving Sunday morning, with or without her permission. And that´s what I did. Because I woke up Sunday and it was all gone. So I came home.

I did hella laundry all yesterday afternoon. And caught up with the boy. And mamita and abuela. Ate dinner - good old refried beans, tomato, tortilla, and holy hell CARNE ASADA! Chicken, but still! Soooo much better than in soup. And then Lenin and I went to church for a bit last night. Yeah. Still don´t like church in Spanish. Stayed long enough to see women speaking in tongues and thrashing about. Guess they need release somewhere. Whatever. The only good part is talking to the kids... because they´re bored and like to come talk to me and practice naming colors.

Today I got up and showered and did more laundry. Finished unpacking my bag... and have started repacking. Because I leave tomorrow.

Yup. Bank workshop in Estelí for three days, Managua for a night, and then I fly to Mexico City!!! Saturday to Saturday in A CITY with ARIELLE!!! I am ridiculously excited. I just wish I din´t have to go to this workshop first. But such is life.

Okay, gone on long enough. Time to move on. Fax some stuff. Get stuff done. Go home.

PS to fly from Managua, Nicaragua to Mexico City, Mexico, I have to go through Houston, TX. Do you know what a pain in the neck that is? Means I can only pack one stupid baggie of liquid. I hate US flying regs. On the way back from Mexico, though, I get to go to Panama!



Advertisement



31st March 2009

Oh, Geez!
Another allergy. I am SO sorry, Molly. Sounds like you have even more of them than I'VE had! At least you've gotten right on it and gotten it cleared up before Mexico City (AND while you were in Managua with doctors!), huh? I hope that you have the time of your life on your trip!! You're schedule's so packed full,....just remember to take the time you need to just enjoy and BREATHE! Love you!
31st March 2009

Through ....
TEXAS to get from Managua, Nicaragua, to Mexico City, Mexico??? WOW! No wonder the airlines are going broke! No efficiency whatsoever! All flights are for THEIR convenience......as opposed to YOURS! And so the world goes........ Panama will be one more to add to your list of "Been There's", though! :)

Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb