of packages, pantasma, and cool kids


Advertisement
Published: February 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

First and foremost, shoutouts!

MAIL!!! FOUR manila envelope packages from Mom - including my BASEBALL GLOVE and more REEF sandals and a bunch of other stuff. Haven´t opened them, but this is what the custom´s declarations says. AND a box from one pbarclay of the Lake by way of Atlanta! I literally had to borrow a sacko - or a big canvas sack - from Silvia in the post office to carry all of this. And I still have to go shopping!

Also, shoutouts to the former volunteer from my site, K1, and to Moncha´s daughter in law, K2! Ah, it gets to be a smalllll world!

So. Lots been happening. This past Thursday I went to Estelí to run errands and EAT. Stayed at Moncha´s and it was just like coming home. Friday I made the trip to Jinotega, my first time, and met up with my 3 best PCV friends. We chilled and ate and drank and generally had a merry time, and then Saturday morning we took the long ass busride to A´s site in Pantasma. Pantasma is a huge old crater with several volunteer sites. A has his own house, so we chilled there, COOKED FOOD and had, once again, a merry time.

Sunday, though, sucked. Let me tell you how it sucked. Transportation, that is why. I got on the bus in front of A´s site at 8.30 am. Arrived 3 hours later in Jinotega city at the north station. Took a cab to the south bus station, and just caught the Expresso bus from Jinotega to Managua. Except this expresso was having a hard time of it and it took an hour and a half just to get to Sébaco. So 1.30. Immediately got on a bus to Estelí. Arrived at the South station, took a minute to finally use the bathroom, and walked past the North station to the Shell station where the Expressos stop. Was hoping to catch an Expresso to Somoto, Ocotal, Jalapa, any of those. Tried calling everyone I know who would know about Expresso times. An expresso to Ocotal passed, and I realized, as I ended up on a ruteado to Somoto, that in retrospect, shoulda taken the Ocotal expresso. But I didn´t. And, as a result, I ended up in Somoto 30 minutes late to catch the last bus to my site. Called Lenin. He said he would wait for me at the bottom of the mountain. So I took a taxi to San Lucas, and hiked up the mountain. Having not eaten or drank anything since 7am in Pantasma. Got home around 5.30 pm. Exhausted.

If you got through that rant, kudos.

Thankfully, class yesterday with the preschool went awesomely. And today with 1st and 2nd grade, also was great. Tomorrow 3rd and 5th grade. Need to think about that one.

Okay, so things are going well! But now I have to run and finish chatting with abeyta and go to the grocery store and haul home groceries and a sacko full of packages!!!!

over and out

Advertisement



25th February 2009

sigh..............
Good! Glad that the 4 envelopes arrived "in tact" (I hope). Please thank Silvia from Sylvia! (fun, isn't it?!). She makes me proud to be a fellow Postal Person! Speaking of witches,...mail count for the Rural Routes, so light light mail for 4 weeks. Then,...LOOK OUT! Ha! Hey, young lady, you sure do get around 'your' country! I try to trace your paths on my map as you travel. Glad classes have gone well so far! XO

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb