llevame contigo y ponme a bailar


Advertisement
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

currently obsessed with:

- papi te quiero by ivy queen. seriously, on repeat on my ipod.
- joy luck club by amy tan. how in the world have i never read this book before?
- my celeste sweatshirt. sky blue is a distinct color here. there´s azul. and there´s celeste.

silvia, the lady at the post office, gave me a brief massage this morning and i wanted her never to stop. god what i wouldn´t give for a pedicure and a massage. but neither of those things are going to happen professionally here in the nica. and thus i must take care of my own feet. something i neither like nor am any good at. and i have to rely on others for brief massages. which i don´t like either.

liz sent me an envelope full of obama inauguration info. i am sooo looking forward to being connected! but it makes me homesick, too.

also, mom, your package with the hommade fudge? you sent it to the old address in managua. another volunteer is bringing it to me next week in matagalpa.

apparently today is not a day for capitalization.

my brother ben rocks my world. the titles of his last 3 emails to me...
I am Jack's rippling pectorals. I lift things; I make Jack hawt.
I am Jack's staggering quadtoids. I make Jack run fast and am huge.
I am Jack's worn-out calf-toids. I make him sore and stumble.

i was super homesick last night. for philadelphia. for our cracked apartment. for driving to trader joe´s with arielle. for sharp cheddar cheese. apples. goat cheese. pasta. with pasta sauce crammed with mushrooms. for mushrooms sauteed in butter. whole wheat bagels. pasta with just butter and parmasean cheese. ben and jerry´s new york super fudge chunk. bum bars in the back seat for our drive to walmart. our velvet couch. our soft lights agaist the brick wall. for the radio in the bathroom. for the washer and dryer. for rori. for the vet clinic and albert and myra and doc. for the cafe across the street and their ridiculously greasy and awesome food. for beer and nachos at the north star bar. for the art district. for kate´s and coffee and reading. for walking to city sports down the parkway and around the fountains, thogh rittenhouse. for starbucks. for reggie and his hugs. amazingly, for the 32 and 48 busses. for chinatown and reading terminal market. for the skullykill or however you spell it. for the steps up to the art museum. for the bishop´s collar and their fruit salsa and quesadillas. for the grandness of eastern state penitentiary in the middle of the city. for live jazz. for restaurants. food.

i miss food. yeah, i eat plenty here, but the food is boring.

i was looking at photos of china and all the food. baozi stuffed with roasted spicy eggplant. roasted meat on sticks. spicy deep fried green beans. spicy tofu. soups. god the soups! candied haws. dumplings. dumplings with pork and tomato. with beef and cilantro. roasted chicken. fish! whole fish! eggplant with savory pork sauce, onions, and cilantro.

and i miss cooking for myself in philly.

here, there is rice. red beans. tortillas. cuajada. crema. onions. tomatoes. green peppers. potatoes. eggs. oil. sugar. coffee. there are only so many combinations of those foods that can be made.

now i´m hungry. time to go buy food and go catch the bus.










Advertisement



Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb