Leaving Esteli for 2 days


Advertisement
Published: December 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mis Gallina CompetitionMis Gallina CompetitionMis Gallina Competition

Here near the park they were holding a Miss Chicken Competition. Most of the chickens were dressed in their finest. One had a necklace of fresh picked coffee beans.
Hi!

Today I will pack up half of my stuff and head out to the nature preserve called the Miraflor. This area is a cloud forest which is supposed to be like Monteverde, Costa Rica was 40 years ago. Living there is primative, I am told. I have all my warm gear and my head lamp, bug repellant, walking shoes, toilet paper, etc. I will stay with a family for 2 nights and I hope to see some coffee picking and processing.

Here are some pictures from around Esteli. They are getting ready for the carnival and horse parade that attracts horses and cowboys from all over Central America. I got to witness the Mis Gallina Competicion (the Miss Chicken Contest) and hopefully my photos will load.

I hope to have time to write one last blog on Monday, which is my last full day. Then Tuesday I will take the bus directly from Esteli to the Airport and should have plenty of time for my afternoon flight.

Hasta pronto,
Dawn


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Nice HatNice Hat
Nice Hat

Here is a close up of one of the birds. I do not know if they are pets or if they will be sold and eaten.
Handmade MuralHandmade Mural
Handmade Mural

This mural was in the office where one arranges the visit to the nature preserve. This mural is made from coffee beans among other things.
Cowboy BootsCowboy Boots
Cowboy Boots

Esteli has many leather workers. The city is famous for their hand made to specification boots.
SantaSanta
Santa

Apparently Santa is more jazzy in Nicaragua and can play his sax to get the children to behave?
Spanish Moss TreeSpanish Moss Tree
Spanish Moss Tree

I thought this was a nice use for Spanish Moss.


Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0951s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb