nicaraguan hygiene


Advertisement
Published: March 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Things that happen here that I forget to mention.

Nicaraguans iron every piece of clothing. All the time. Their holey old work shirt. Oh, it´s got creases. Seriously. Women spend hours every night ironing everyone´s clothes from the baby´s shorts to the men´s dress pants to their own shirts to the handkerchiefs that everyone carries all the time.

Thus, I am dressed more poorly than the Nicans because I refuse to iron every piece of clothing.

Gringos also have the reputation of generally being dirty. Perhaps because we don´t iron. Despite the fact that I shower EVERY MORNING as soon as I get up, usually between 5.30-6.30am, and he damn well knows it, Lenin asks me every day if I´ve bathed. I´ve started acting like I don´t even hear the qustion. Just because it´s an asshole question that doesn´t deserve an answer.

Nicaraguans also brush their teeth for an extraordinarily long amount of time. Usually rinsing and then brushing them again. After every meal. At least my cousins and brothers and sisters do. And the boy flosses, too.

So, third poorest country in the western hemisphere, but a damn hygienic nation. At least as far as my families in Estelí and Moropoto are concerned.





Advertisement



13th March 2009

comment
Your entries are muy divertidos. They make me smile everytime I read your blogs. Muy buena suerte to you and have a nice weekend.
13th March 2009

hygiene
damn foreigners, always stereotyping us gringos.
13th March 2009

Oh my god, I would look so slovenly in that country because I am so bad at ironing.
24th March 2009

Huh??
Iron? Like, clothing? Molly, remember that time when Ben was like 3 years old or thereabouts, and he spied our ironing board deep into the pantry and asked if it was a surfboard?? Guess he'd never seen me use OURS either! Ha! Wonder where you get your attitude sometimes, Honey.....really, I do! ;) xo

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0885s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb