john and michael


Advertisement
Published: November 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Back in Esteli.

God mi madre´s food here is so good. Interesting to hear about everyone´s site visits.

This week is so full. Like, day after day of fullness until we leave for Managua. And that kind of blows.

So read that Michael Crichton died when I was crying and laughing and listening to Barack´s speech on Wednesday. That sucks. But you know, I only read .State of Fear. I loved watching .Jurassic Park. though...

Also, how am I 26 years old and JUST discovered the brilliance of John Steinbeck? I am currently reading .East of Eden. And by currently reading, I mean currently obsessively reading into all hours of the night. I have watched .Of Mice and Men. and I loved it. In fact, I still cannot watch a movie with John Malcovich and take him seriously as clearly he´s etched into my mind as retarded Lenny in the story.

I just cannot believe I haven´t read anything by Steinbeck before.

Today is a kind of weird day. Melancholy and disjointed. I just got a cell phone. Most of us did now that we know our future sites and what service we have - or won´t have. It is the same Motorola that I had in China and that I had in the States. And had I known, I would´ve brought my one from China and just traded the SIM card. But I didn´t know. But if I ever.

Um. Whoa. So over a month ago I left my USB memory stick in here. I haven´t been back after they told me they had no idea what happened to it. I was pissed at myself and at them and have been going to another internet place... but everyone wanted to come here so I did too... and the internet boy just GAVE ME BACK MY MEMORY STICK. My mouth dropped open, and then I jumped up and hugged him and kissed him... which isn't so strange here.

The world is weird.

Also, on my way out of Moropoto, the 9.30am bus is like so crowded that I always end up hanging on with one hand halfway out the door and the whole top of the bus is filled with boys sitting there. I had a duffle full of clothes, a backpack full of notebooks and dictionaries - and my camera I forgot was in there - and my shoulder bag. I kept my shoulder bag with money and documents, but put the other two on top of the bus. Of course that´s when I realized that my camera was in my backpack. The whole ride I was convinced that my bag would be open and the camera gone and there was no way in hell that I would be able to do anything about it, and I was cursing myself for letting my backpack go up there....

But we arrived and my bags were unopened and my camera was intact. Miraculously.

Also, yesterday I couldn´t find my money purse. It only had 100 cords or about $5 in it, but it had my Peace Corps ID, which I need to get money out of the bank here. Had NO IDEA how it went missing as I paid for a cab in Esteli when I got back and got out money for the bus and had my bag on me the whole time, just couldn´t effing figure it out.

My madre, after 3 hours of me searching, moving my bed, thinking someone stole it from my room... my mom goes out to the bucket of laundry I had soaking so I could wash it today... digs around, and comes out with my sopping wet money purse.

Life is weird.

I need to own a Harley before I turn 30.



Advertisement



10th November 2008

Que?
Surely you've read Of Mice and Men?!
17th November 2008

AAAAA....I just found this entry!
Seriously, was just wandering back thru your blog entries and here is one that I, somehow, missed receiving notice on! (humph--preposition, I know!). Anyway, I must remember to go back and re-enjoy more often now! Yeah,...life is weird. ;)
17th November 2008

(whispering,...she asks.....)
THE GRAPES OF WRATH......wasn't that John Steinbeck's also?? Powerful. But not sure of myself here, and haven't looked it up.

Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1111s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb